Rick

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/02/2020 - 06/04/2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I'm in my mid-40s, level headed, and looking to enrich the experience of living for myself and those around me. My partner and I spent most of our thirties living internationally, but that was with our children. Now that they are out on their own and life is changing, would like to spend more time internationally and seeing how different parts of the world live their day. Over the years we've lived in some basic areas, such as rural Panama, so I'm very comfortable with farm life and non-city amenities. I'll be traveling while it's cold in Canada, trying to explore the world and the rich tapestry of human experience.

    I still do software development work each day for 4 hours, but that leaves lots of time for other tasks. I often volunteer in the kitchen at a meditation centre, so know how to pull together a meal for around 100 people (if that's what you need). I enjoy gardening and am reasonably skilled at most household maintenance. I really enjoy looking at the stars at night and taking in architecture. If you don't have a plan but do have a general idea of what you'd like to achieve, then I'm a good person to help lay out a method to make it happen. I'm an avid fan of all things science-related, so if there's a curious mind, I'm a great guide into the world of science and computers. If you need any sort of computer help, I'm also great resource. Each morning I meditate and it's an important part of my day.

    Overall, I'm well organized, hard working, open & honest, adaptable, enjoy completing tasks, timely with being tidy (not leaving things for tomorrow) and know myself as a person. I certainly have a positive approach to life, always looking beyond exteriors to discover substance within. I would really like the opportunity to take in the experience of helping in any way I can - it's the goal that counts, not the steps that get there. I have quite a bit of life experience, like to think I'm self aware enough to be compassionate to the troubles of those around me, and want to share this with the world.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
  • What skills do you have?

    - Vegetable gardening and general yard maintenance
    - Cooking (both commercial and home)
    - House maintenance (basic electrical and plumbing too)
    - General carpentry and construction
    - General science
    - Software / computer
    - TEFL certified

    I'm capable and not afraid of new challenges. Just point in the direction of a task, and I'll school up what is needed (with the help of the internet) and we'll figure out how to get it done.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

  • Age

    45

  • What else ...

    I don't have a lot of requirements, other than a modest space while I'm living with you; a small desk with power and decent internet ( > 2Mbps) to do computer work. I drink lightly and socially, like a bit of order in my environment (I make my bed every day), and live in a calm and relaxed manner.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No and I'm really flexible. Strange foods consumed in strange lands is where I'm at.

Photos

Digging to access the septic tank in Lussan, France
Cleaning out pond at French Farmhouse
Cooking at the meditation centre
Rerouting plumbing through 30cm reinforced concrete wall
Garden box at home, early summer 2018
Building a storage shed in France

Feedback