Wesley

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, Serbia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2019 - 01/01/2023

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Wesley Otto!

    I was a part time college student living in California before leaving to travel about 9 months ago. From working at a sheep farm in Iceland, a horse riding center in Whales, a permaculture project in the UK, to my current host in Switzerland taking care of horses and renovating an old home i truly dont plan on stopping. To many places to see, people to meet, and knowledge and experience to be gained.

    At home i worked a compressed work week of 12 hour days to give me time for school. On my weekends i volunteered at a local wildlife rescue called Gold Country Wildlife Rescue helping with animal intakes and the day to day of caring and rehabbing wild animals.

    I have traveled and volunteered through most of South East Asia. Working alongside local rice farmers in Bali, fishermen in Malaysia, and did some work at a Wildlife sanctuary in Indonesia specializing in rescuing Sea Turtles.

    As a child i was raised on a ranch in California. We boarded horses, hosted rodeos, raised beef cattle, swine, sheep, goats, turkeys and chickens and i showed multiple types of animals at fair.

    I am no stranger to a hard days work, and i love being outside among animals and nature. When i travel i try and truly live like the locals, and the idea of actually LIVING with the locals going about daily activities, having dinner together and sharing stories and ideas sounds amazing. I truly try and make every aspect of my life into a learning experience, and think there would be no better place to learn, laugh, work, and grow then alongside likeminded people who are opening their homes to volunteers.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a wide span of skills ranging from animal care, farm work, carpentry, cooking, house duties, and more.
    If i haven't done it before, i am more then willing to learn. I work well with others and know how to take instructions. I am very social person with a good sense of humor and love a good laugh.
    Im pretty much willing to learn and adapt to anything you can throw at me!

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    Very hard worker willing to learn adapt to any situation

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      None

    • Special dietary requirements
      Always hungry

Photos

Feedback