Riekje

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Tanzania - from May 2023 until Jun 2023
    View all
  • Description

    Hello,
    My name is Riekje. But you can call me Ricky for my name is a name you will probably only be able to pronounce if you are dutch.
    I am a third year bachelor student in environmental sciences at Wageningen University.
    I crave some valuable real life experiences to break up my life as a student.

    I wish to travel, and while doing so experience independence and freedom. I want to meet new people, learn new skills, see beautiful landscapes and eat strange food. I am a fast learner and a good listener and I don't take myself to seriously. I love animals and nature. I am the type of person who doesn't need a lot of input to stay entertained. In that regard you could call me an introvert, but that is also not really the case. I am perfectly able to cope on my own, but if I have the choice I'd spend time my with others.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Music
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Languages
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    I am a creative mind but also a technical thinker. I like to combine the two in anything I do.

    In one of the pictures you can see a red circle with mirrors on it. This is the result of my art exam assignment. I can help with creative work like designing and making a mural or decorating a garden. At school I learned things like soldering, sawing and other technical skills that are useful for creative assignments.

    I used to be a water scout where a learned a great deal of technical skills. Every winter the boats, which are made of metal, have to be maintained. So we scrubbed the underside with a steel brush to remove rust, we sanded the old lacquer and we added new coats. We also had to maintain the woodwork. From the masts to the rudder, sanding and lacquering it in multiple layers. So now I know how to treat rust spots or maintain woodwork. I can also weld a little bit but I've only done it three times.

    During my gap year I had a job as a cleaning lady in a rehabilitation center. I still work as a cleaning lady on the side.

    Previous workaway:
    My previous workaway experiences include Portugal, Thailand, Norway and Slovenia. In Portugal I helped out on two amazing permaculture farms. The work was physically demanding but also super fun. In Thailand I taught English to little kids and also helped a very nice lady who had her own dog sanctuary.
    In Norway I helped with general things around the house and in Slovenia I worked as the chef for five days a week cooking for 7 people.

    Other Skills:
    I have worked as a bartender. Here I improved my multitasking skills.
    I have plenty of creative skills. Like painting, drawing and sewing. Some of my creations are in the pictures.

    University:
    I am a third year bachelor student in environmental sciences at Wageningen University. This is a very broad program which teaches an array of skills and knowledge. I have followed many courses from advanced multivariate mathematics to social sciences and philosophy. My special interests lie in soil sciences, geology, hydro-geology and ecology.
    I am trained in the scientific method and know how to analyze things critically. Possibly the number one thing I have learned is that there are always more questions to ask. Especially when talking about environmental- and sustainability topics you will deal with very complex issues.

  • Age

    23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I'm slightly allergic to cats. But I do love them. Oh the struggle.

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback