Naomi & Renee

From: Poland & United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/09/2020 - 31/08/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    A LITTLE BIT ABOUT US:
    We are Naomi and Renee, a creative, nature-loving, and hard-working international couple. We are seeking to live out our dream of seeing the world while contributing to a meaningful project with likeminded people.

    Naomi was born in Poland, and Renee was born in Venezuela but also has Spanish citizenship. Naomi has lived in Poland and the United States, and Renee has lived in the United States and Venezuela. We met when we were 11 years old, and we reconnected many years later at 19 years old. We've been together for three years, and we're excited to spend many more together!

    Renee has her Bachelor's in Political Science and Economics and hopes to get a Master's in the next couple of years. Naomi is studying environmental engineering and music production at the University of Southern California.

    WHY WE'RE DOING WORKAWAY:
    We want to develop meaningful connections with other people while making life-long memories. We also want to be a part of a caring community that shares our love for culture, people, art and nature.

    We hope to contribute to a project where we can share our diverse skills, and most importantly LEARN new ones! Finally, we hope to spend the next year traveling Europe because we want to re-connect with our European roots, while taking some time away from the chaos of America.

    WHAT WE LOVE: Philosophical conversations, learning about other cultures, hiking, painting, drawing, making music, concerts/festivals, cooking healthy food, surfing, kayaking, sharing meals, writing and reading, caring for animals, DIY home improvement, teaching/tutoring kids–anything that engages the mind, body, and soul :)

    OUR VALUES:
    We believe in respect for all people regardless of age, gender, race, or religious beliefs. We also believe in doing our part and always communicating with others. We always try to go above and beyond for others. We love nature and try to do our part to take care of the planet every day.

    OUR LANGUAGES:
    Together, we are fluent in three languages: English (both), Spanish (Renee), and Polish (Naomi). Naomi also speaks some Spanish.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    NAOMI:
    -LANGUAGES: English (fluent), Polish (fluent), Spanish (intermediate)
    -I currently study electronic music production and environmental engineering in college.
    -Meditation
    -Weight lifting/personal fitness/nutrition
    -Music: I have played acoustic instruments - saxophone, clarinet, piano - for over 12 years. I have studied electronic music production as well for a few years now. I love writing and playing music with others, alongside teaching others how to play instruments.
    -Caring for animals: I have lived around cats and dogs my entire life!
    -Tutoring: I have multiple years of experience helping younger students with their studies. I have exceptional experience in mathematics and music theory.
    -Sports: I particularly enjoy water sports such as surfing, kite surfing, and waterskiing, but am always interested in learning and playing a new sport!
    -Engineering/DIY home fixes: I love fixing just about anything around the house. If something breaks, I can usually quickly engineer a home solution.
    -Computers: I have extensive computer knowledge. I enjoy taking apart technological devices either to fix them, or upgrade them if something needs fixing. I am also great at troubleshooting computer issues.
    -Lifting heavy things

    Respect
    Compassion
    Communication
    Listening
    Eating healthy
    Kindness
    Respect for nature


    RENEE:
    -LANGUAGES: English (fluent), Spanish (fluent)
    -SEO writing/writing for the web: I've been a professional SEO content writer for the last 3 years.
    -Writing (other): Writing is my biggest passion and skill :) I write poems and stories about life in Venezuela as a hobby.
    -Graphic Design: Experience in making flyers/invitations/posters/social media graphics.
    -DIY home projects: I can do basic home improvement stuff like painting walls/baseboards, putting up wall hangings, fixing minor plumbing problems, fixing minor air conditioning problems, renovating/repurposing furniture, interior decorating, hammer/drill; If I don't know how to do something, I always try to learn it!
    -Tutoring/mentoring/teaching: I worked at an NGO for 6 months, where my job was to mentor troubled teens and train other mentors. I have also been tutoring two boys (12 and 14 years old) for the last 6 months.
    -Cleaning and organizing
    -Taking care of house plants (hobby)
    -Arts and crafts (hobby): drawing, painting, pottery, collage-making, macrame, making home decor. When I'm bored I always try to find a craft to do.
    -Caring for animals: I've lived with dogs/cats my whole life. I help my aunt care for her chickens and horses when I visit her farm house (mostly with feeding and cleaning).
    -Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Economics: I am very good at Excel, academic writing (I wrote a 70-page thesis), and discussing political/economic problems.
    -Public Speaking: I have worked with a malaria NGO called Nothing But Nets for the last three years. I always have to do public speaking at conferences, meetings, and other big events. I also presented my thesis at an academic conference in Norway.
    -Humanitarian: I am a humanitarian first and foremost. Growing up in Venezuela made me very aware of global imbalances in living. I have done NGO work with several organizations, including the United Nations Association. My work has primarily been "advocacy/lobbying" which means I talk to politicians and ask them to support causes, like ending malaria.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

  • Age

    24 & 24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback