Remy

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belize, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/09/2018 - 23/07/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    398

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I love learning, creating, communicating and immersing myself in other cultures. I’ve traveled to Nicaragua and Costa Rica on two separate occasions and fell in love with Spanish culture. I have just under a year to experience as much of South and Central America as I can before I have to return to university. I just finished a 3 month solo trip to Ecuador and the Galapagos, working on sustainable agriculture and environmental conservation. My goals for the next 5 months are to travel in the most socially/environmentally responsible way, become fluent in Spanish, meet amazing people, see majestic sunsets, learn new things, and have fun doing it!
    My friends describe me as a person with never ending energy and enthusiasm. I am a quick study, and love challenges where I can pick up new skills along the way. I am a hard worker and love getting my hands dirty and invested in a project. I enjoy doing work that benefits others and lifts them up!
    Feel free to message me with any questions :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    -----------------------------------Technology Skills-----------------------------------

    MARKETING -- Drone piloting, advertisement, video making -- learned from classes at school over the past 7 years, see a video I made for a past workaway host here: https://youtu.be/l259gFGAplY (please contact me if you are interested in seeing more work that I have done)

    WEBSITE CREATION -- making websites for companies as I travel, learned from father who is computer engineer

    SOCIAL MEDIA -- Instagram, Facebook, twitter, snapchat, you name it, I can create engaging content for your business!

    GENERAL COMPUTER HELP -- wiring, setup, blogging, excel spreadsheets, graphic design, learned from my father who is a computer engineer


    -----------------------------------Labor Skills-----------------------------------

    AVID PROBLEM SOLVER -- acquired from years of woodworking, engineering classes, and growing up with three engineers

    GENERAL FIXER -- fixing anything from electronics to bikes to toilets

    CARPENTRY -- from classes at school, and renovating my bathroom, kitchen and bedroom

    LANDSCAPING -- environmentally conscious design and execution skills, learned from building an eco-park at local school (as seen in photos)

    GARDENING -- beekeeping, from managing my own garden and beehive for a decade


    -----------------------------------Other Skills-----------------------------------

    CHILD CARE -- worked at a summer camp for 5 years as a counselor with kids ages 8-12

    LEADERSHIP -- teamwork, have attended and helped organize leadership seminars and run many student group activities

    HOSPITALITY -- customer service, from working at a eco-hotel for a month, and running a non-profit organization that provides free bike maintenance and service to underprivileged communities

    DRIVE MANUEL CARS -- learned how to drive on a manual car


    -----------------------------------Most Important Skills-----------------------------------

    PASSIONATE DOG LOVER -- 11 years of pets and snuggles

    ALWAYS BRINGING A POSITIVE ATTITUDE -- from growing up in a happy, loving family

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent English, Intermediate Spanish and would love to improve!

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    I am incredibly adaptable and love donating my heart, sweat and tears to help others.

    Check out my website to learn more about me, my interests and to watch some videos I have made from my travels!

    remyworks.com

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Wheat, Dairy, Nuts

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

My group of campers I have had for the past three summers :)
A fun 5k with friends
I'm an avid hiker, biker and rock climber!
My sister and I with some family friends we babysit
Fixing children's bikes at the local earth day celebration with the non-profit I run
Other counselors and I at the summer camp where I work
We fixed up and donated three bikes to this wonderful family who is so deserving of some summer fun!
A robot my friends and I designed and coded in Engineering Design and Development class
All the volunteers I led through a two week long community oriented park building project
Me and my bees!!!
All about safety at the wood shop!
A great hike with friends
Post 12 hour landscaping work day
The finished park, with tables and chairs we built from recycled pallet wood, a 10m long bar we built from steel pipe and recycled plastic composite lumber, and all the landscaping and garden beds we created! Check out my website to see a video of the build process :)
A shelf I made for a friend :)

Feedback