ReiseMira

  • Germany & United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Email verified
Explorer
Top Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

    Our next destination:

    Nicaragua - from May 2024
    View all
  • Description

    May 2024 update *

    We've arrived in Central America and have a few months here to enjoy our tour before heading home. We hope to see you soon.



    We are Mira & Josh. Explorer, Nomads and volunteers since 7 years. Currently we're backpacking, hitchhiking and camping our way through South America towards central America, always on the lookout for inspiration for our own future project.

    I'm Mira, a traveling volunteer and craftswoman. I started travelling in 2016. Since then I have collected wonderful experiences, enjoyed the cultural exchange and started to see what is really necessary to live a happy and fulfilling life. It makes me happy to be able to help poeple and get helped. It's a great exchange.

    And I am Josh, traveling since 2016. I have spent a lifetime working in restaurants and hospitality and realized that I was missing out on what the world had to offer. I have been using Workaway for six years, from organic farms to hostels and guesthouses, natural building and off grid locations, I have enjoyed them all.


    The perfect place for us to volunteer in, is a good mix out of helping with skills we already have and learning new ones. Together, with our collective volunteering experience and ability to quickly adapt to life in a new place makes it possible to jump right in and be a help from the beginning. We are passionate about volunteering, it is a lifestyle for us. We are looking for new experiences, not for a free holiday.


    We are happy to work with a team or to work independently and enjoy tasks that challenge us. After a good working day we love to cook, sit together, laugh and have an open minded conversation. To share our time with positive people full of energy makes us happy, people who care about the environment, who are warm-hearted, creative, humorous, passionate, communicative, motivated and easy going.


    When we are not volunteering you can usually find us enjoying nature, hiking, camping, cooking, exploring. We also like to explore cities, learn about history, culture and local cuisine.

  • Interests

    Van life
    Pets
    History
    Camping
    Hiking
    Hitchhiking
    Nature
    Outdoor activities
    Plant care
    Sustainability
    Gardening
    Farming
    DIY & crafts
    Culture
    Cooking & food
    Carpentry
    Art & design
    Architecture
    Animals
  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Art Projects
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Volunteering for us is a way of life. It's about self development, curiosity of the unknown, extending our skills and our horizon. It's a balanced exchange in between volunteer and host, respect and honesty. We can offer to help with the experience and skills we already have in exchange to learn something new.


    Unfortunately, we've made the experience too often that we were stuck working by ourselves on projects that match our experience and we were not able to do our learn something new.

    ______________________________________________

    Our last years volunteering and traveling have taught us loads of basic knowledge in regards to daily tasks of managing a farm, garden and permaculture. However, these are all things we want to learn more about.

    We hope to expand our knowledge in the following fields to be able to start our own project in the future.

    - Sustainable/Organic gardening and farming
    -Natural building/ eco building
    - Sustainable hospitality and tourism
    - Food preserving and canning
    - Making natural products like soaps, cleaning products etc.
    - Anything and everything related to these fields



    《《 Our core skills 》》
    range from renovating, refurbishing, painting, designing, sewing, woodwork, improving living/working places, upcycling and improvising with what's available and anything guest related. Carpentry, interior design, all aspects of hospitality, farm, garden and animal care.

  • Age

    36 & 42

  • What else ...

    We truly appreciate that people open their houses & their hearts and invite people from around the world. No matter which age, gender, nationality or background.

    Gender equality goes without saying. In the time we live together, we always treat our "home at the time" as our own, and enjoy the feeling to be part of a group.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback



Photos

Friends

Feedback