Rebeka

  • Slovenia
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi. :)

    My name is Rebeka and I'm from Slovenia. I'm 22 years old and I'm an enthusiastic Social-Pedagogue-to-be. As my study suggests, I enjoy meeting people, discovering humanity, observing society.

    People would describe me as smiley, open-minded, hard-working, spontaneous and optimistic. I prefer slow traveling which allows me to make some meaningful connections on the way.

    I love classic rock, good books, making vegan desserts, hiking, swimming and playing guitar (still a beginner, and not a very talented one:)). And coffee. Or tea. Or red wine:).

    I feel deep connection to nature and animals. I love being outdoors and I sometimes get on with animals better then with humans. As a little girl I lived for horses and dogs (from horse-riding to all sorts of dog training, sports, dog shows) and I still love and respect all the living creatures. I recently started taking horseriding lessons again, doing it in the way that is friendly towards a horse. My dream is to join my passion for nature and my future job, Social Pedagogy, so I'm very curious about animal assisted therapy, nature kindergartens and all the other places where children come in contact with nature and animals. I'm also curious about alternative schooling.

    In summer 2019 I tried Workaway for the first time. I stayed in France with 2 families - first babysitting a 2,5 years old boy and 9 months old baby girl and walking the dog for two months, and than one month of work on the farm with animals (mostly horses), some gardening, maintenance work, help in the house and restaurant and babysitting as well (4,5 y.o.). In summer 2020 I helped at horse farm and with dogs in Austria. All those experience were unforgettable, full of love, I learned so much and I really enjoyed this type of work and travel. I also studied abroad for 2 semesters, one semester in Aarhus, Denmark and one in Rovaniemi, Finland. Now I'm looking forward new adventures abroad for my gap year (July 2022 - September 2023)! :)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Hitchhiking
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Writing
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    Events & social
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Working with people, including babysitting (I study Social Pedagogy), work with animals, language exchange (my English is C1; I can teach you Slovenian - the language only 2 million people speak:), basic work in the household and around the house, basic computer skills.

    I had a few student jobs where I learned hard-working and responsability. As a Social Pedagogy student I did some voluntary work in my country, I also had an internship in correctional institution for teenagers in Slovenia and in nature kindergarten in Denmark. Together with some friends I set up a ''re-use'' place on the campus where students can help each other and the environment with exchanging different things.

    I have driving license (clean, 4+ years).

    Until now, I have done the following types of help at Workaway stays: babysitting, helping with animals (dogs, horses, pigs, chicken, cats...), gardening, help in the house, outside maintenance work, also some help in the restaurant. I especially enjoyed babysitting and working with animals.

    I'm ready to learn new skills as fast as I can. I'm not allergic to dirt:)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Slovenian: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Serbo-Croatian: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    I'm fully vaccinated. :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat mostly vegan at home, but I'm flexible and I can adapt to vegetarian or pescetarian diet when travelling.

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback