Rebecca

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Romania - from May 2022 until May 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello everyone!

    My name is Rebecca (or Becky for short!) and I want to thank you for taking a moment to check out my profile. In December 2015, I left my job as a social worker to fulfill my dream of traveling more extensively. I’ve been able to continue traveling by using my savings, doing odd jobs and freelance work, and keeping my lodging costs down by doing work exchanges, pet sitting, and backpacking/camping. I love sites such as this that give a traveler such as myself the opportunity to do a fair exchange of performing work or pet sitting and providing me with housing and a true taste of what it is like to live in a given area. Doing work exchanges is what has allowed me to travel extensively on a minimal budget and I have met some incredible people in the process.

    Post-college graduation, I’ve devoted my working life to the social services field, with work experience as a social services worker for seniors in a continuing care environment, youth in a YMCA TGIF program, and providing counseling/case management to drug and alcohol clients in both inpatient and outpatient settings . I’ve spent the last ten years of my professional career working with seniors in a work environment that required much ingenuity, time management, and flexibility.

    I consider myself a relatively quiet person, but am outgoing when it comes to getting a job done or advocating for something I believe in. I’m very flexible and have worked in positions in which I pitch in to help complete any tasks that need done. I enjoy meeting new people and sharing experiences, as well as music, movies, art, long distance hiking, camping, and nature. I’m an animal lover. I consider myself a bit of an introvert, but I do enjoy lively conversation on a number of topics. I’m comfortable on my own and also enjoy being around people.

    A list of my general skills is included in that section. I’d love to further discuss my work experience! Also, I consider myself a quick learner and self starter. With Workaway, I would love to have the opportunity to learn some new skills, whether it be assisting in weed pulling, path building, brush removal, learning about farming, sailing a boat, painting, or helping to build something. I love to learn and I’ve never been afraid to get my hands dirty. Thanks for taking the time to learn more about me. Cheers!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Pets
    Languages
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Social Services/Case Management background for seniors
    Counseling/Case Management for drug and alcohol clients
    Certified Nursing Assistant
    Housekeeping
    Waitressing
    Some knowledge of Word Press
    Writing/Proofreading
    Social Media
    Scheduling
    Cooking (small scale)
    Baking
    Assisting at Reception Desk
    Sales/Retail
    Animal Care (with guidance)
    Food/vegetable processing
    Gardening
    Painting
    House/pet sitting
    Transportation

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I am currently taking European Portuguese lessons.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    52

  • What else ...

    I have a number of interests and typically get along well with people of varying backgrounds and age groups. I have friends in their early twenties as well as upper eighties. We have something to learn from everyone and we all have differing perspectives. Because I travel so extensively, I have joined lots of meetup groups, including hiking, board games, poetry reading, writing groups, expat groups, karaoke, etc.

    A long term goal is to eventually purchase property in Portugal and gain residency. I am particularly interested in learning as much as I can about homesteading and/or communal living.

    I can provide screenshots of reviews from prior work exchanges and housesitting, or references. There are some work exchanges that I have returned to multiple times.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback