Russell

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belize, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/05/2019 - 08/09/2021

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Ah...... and so begins the wonderful task of describing yourself to others. Well where do I start; I've had market stalls, set up and ran my own very successful communications company, co-owned a garage selling prestige cars, had my own property company, lived in the French Alps for 5 years and have travelled extensively; I can safely say that living in France and travelling were / have been far more rewarding than the other 'jobs' listed. I'm now an actor and have been for the past 8 years but despite having some relative success it's time for pastures new and a break from London life. I'm very easy going but that doesn't mean that I am easily swayed or lead, I gravitate towards positive people and tend not to spend too much energy trying to win people round who are negative; that said one of the most rewarding experiences I have had in my acting career has been working with adult inmates and young offenders - I feel it only fair to point out that any element of negativity was more often a result of their surroundings and 'yes' I do believe in rehabilitation.

  • Type of help

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • What skills do you have?

    I have an MA in theatre studies and drama and to support my acting I have taught drama to a wide range of people but perhaps the most rewarding work I have undertaken was, as mentioned above, conducting workshops with prison inmates. I was an actor for nearly 9 years and have had some success appearing on TV, numerous commercials and feature films but the passion I once had for it is no longer there hence leaving for 'pastures new' so to speak.
    I'm a keen cook - I worked for my friend who runs an 'on tour' catering business which involved cooking for numerous famous bands and rock stars. I also cooked for 32 people in a chalet for two ski seasons so I know my way around a kitchen.
    I've owned numerous motorbikes and am therefore reasonably good at mechanics.
    Prior to going to drama school _ I didn't start acting until I was in my 40's - I had a company that specialised in refurbishing properties and although most of the work was sub contracted out I have a good grasp of the basics when it comes to maintenance.
    With regard to IT skills, I'd say that I am better than average but that's better than you average 53 year old which probably isn't too hard! I know my way around Sage accountancy software and also Xero and of course MS Outlook, Word and Excel and Mac software. I've got some basic web design skills too.
    I won't pretend that I have green fingers or that I have a great deal of gardening knowledge, I don't but I enjoy all aspects of nature. I guess my biggest skill is the ability to make people laugh, whether that be with me or at me (in a positive way) and to make them feel at ease. I have had dogs and am comfortable around most animals having helped out on various friend's farms during my previous travels.
    I lived and worked for a ski school in the French Alps for several years when I was in my mid 20's and although I am no longer fluent I speak reasonably good conversational French. I have also started to learn Spanish

  • Languages spoken

    Good conversational French and some basic Spanish

  • Age

    55

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I'm looking for a WorkAway that is rewarding in several aspects. I would like to be a part of a project that helps others, whether that be teaching a language, or assisting with reading and writing, or helping with day to day tasks in a place where people come to enjoy a different quality of life. Surfing is something that I would like to become better at - I'm a beginner - so living near to a surf beach and being able to surf is important as is being around like minded people who share a passion for helping others and giving something back so to speak.

    I enjoy meeting people, am very sociable and have an ability to make people smile and laugh. I'm not a party animal, those days are behind me and I don't drink but I do still like to have a good time and let my hair down........although, as you can see from my picture, I am bald!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      NO

    • Special dietary requirements
      NO

Feedback