RACHEL & Nicolas

From: Australia & France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2021 - 13/08/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello!

    Rachel (me) is an Aussie & Nick is from France. We have been living in Canmore, Alberta for the last year and a half. We have absolutely loved living and exploring the Rocky Mountains, however with our visas coming to an end later this year (September), we really wanted to learn from and experience other parts of Canada.

    We have both done Workaway/WWOOFing projects in the past. Myself in France and Nick in New Zealand. We both had really great experiences meeting people and helping people with their projects.

    Nick is quite passionate about gardening and things that grow and I quite enjoy it too. We would love to help in any way possible; preparing, planting or maintenance projects.

    We are both really active and love being in nature/the outdoors. We spent a lot of time outdoors over the winter/summer months skiing (downhill & cross country), hiking, camping etc. We aren't afraid to get our hands dirty. Nick loves photography and baking delicious bread. I love writing and teaching/practicing yoga.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    To give you an idea I will list some tasks we completed/were involved with through the Workaway/WWOOFing projects we have done:

    Weeding, using a strimmer, using a rotorvator to turn the Earth (preparing new garden beds)
    Planting various plants, bushes, flowers, bulbs and vegetables
    Repotting plants
    Watering/tending to the garden
    Digging and clearing areas
    Moving heavy items such as rocks and rubbish etc.
    Sanding/painting and reviving furniture
    General cleaning/household assistance
    Child minding (Rachel)
    Organising (Rachel)
    Cooking (which we love!)
    Other miscellaneous tasks

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    Rachel only speak very basic French

  • Age

    30 & 29

  • Nationality

    Australian & French

  • What else ...

    The skills listed are mostly specific to gardening, however Rachel has also worked in hospitality, volunteered in an orphanage (Nepal) and worked in an office environment, so I have basic computer skills as well.
    If there is anything specific you require we may be able to assist to please ask if you are interested.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Rachel: Intolerant to dairy products (lactose free is okay & so is cheese)

Photos

Feedback