Ross

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Colombia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/08/2019 - 01/04/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi I'm Ross, 30, from Scotland (the land of haggis and whisky!) and I've taken some time out to travel, work and volunteer across the globe!

    I would describe myself as friendly, outdoorsy, inquisitive with a can-do attitude who enjoys meeting new people from all walks of life. I wouldn't have always described myself like that though - I was generally a shy and nervous teenager. It wasn't until I took the plunge and went on a European exchange programme that everything changed. It was experience that set me up for life though I wasn't to know it at the time.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    My day job back home in Scotland was within the construction industry where I worked as a structural engineer specialising in buildings for a consultancy (office-based). These were predominately large-scale commercial projects (schools, universities, offices, hospitals etc.) but I've worked on a couple of small-scale residential projects too (a house, an apartment conversion etc.). Along with a theoretical background, I have some practical hands-on experience in construction of various small things (a bridge, a retaining wall, floor slabs, driveways, stairs, kerbs, a shed etc.) so I also have an appreciation of what it takes to actually build things from the ground up as opposed to sitting in an office in front of a screen!

    As well as the construction industry, I have a customer service background from working in retail within the food and fashion industries during my time as a student (albeit that was a long time ago now!). This involved conversing with customers whilst selling them products, along with helping them with any queries. I also have experience teaching primary and high school pupils through providing presentations and workshops, which aimed to raise awareness of structural engineering and the construction industry.

    My Mum and Dad raised me to be a good home keeper by giving me various chores as I was growing up (e.g. cleaning, food shopping, helping with DIY etc.). My Grandpa was an avid gardener who maintained a few greenhouses in his back garden and even entered into the local competitions. Whilst I picked up some things when he was around, I never appreciated what a great horticulturalist he was until he passed away.

    And lastly, I'm always willing to try my hand at new things - that is one of the key reasons I am here!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    Scottish

  • What else ...

    I've lived and travelled around Europe, Asia, North America and Australia so I'm used to meeting new people with different viewpoints and adapting to my surroundings quickly. I'm a very active person who enjoys running, cycling and playing squash. I'm keen to develop my cooking, woodworking, foraging and language skills (French and Spanish).

    Back home, I was an active host on Couchsurfing which shares similar a philosophy and reference system with Workaway. You can see my profile here: couchsurfing.com/people/ross-campbell-10, which has several references from guests as well as hosts.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Pollen (hay fever)

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback