Priyanshi & Mayank

From: Italy & India

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/07/2019 - 31/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    We are from India, now studying Masters in Architecture in Milan, Italy. We have travelled in different parts of India, and offbeat areas, exploring different kinds of culture and people. However, we dont like travelling to touristic destinations, but look forward to experience local culture, people and thats why we want to experience workaway.
    We believe in community driven spaces and gift culture.
    We have been to trekks, sometimes in a group with completely strangers who later turned to be the best travel mates with whom we am still connected too, and sometimes leading the treks with known ones. Have you ever heard or felt that the friendships made in mountains are the pure and special.
    Its been 1 year been in Italy and we are exploring Europe whenever we get time as we have Student Schengen visa.
    We are looking forward for workaway program in July- August as we have summer semester break and we are excited to experience and learn something new.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    As we have travelled in different parts of India, we have the flexibility to adapt to different spaces and culture.
    Being an architect we look forward for sustainable building program and local building techniques .
    We are looking forward for different kind of learning local experiences like working in vineyards, cheese making, organic farms etc.
    As we come from India, we have grown up all life speaking English in school, university and work so English is our official language.
    We have been part of different building workshops like low cost housing and mud house workshop in which we build a mud house in a rural village in India where still all the houses are made of clay.
    I travelled through workaway in South Italy for almost 50 days and it was beatiful and different experience at all 4 hosts. From living with families to sharing space with other workawayers, to being part of musicial events all days to living with yet another amazing family where i was part of fiestas and caravan travelling with the hosts father and friends and having a personal tent for 20 days was an amazing experience.

    My workaway experience so far:
    I travelled in South Italy for about 50 days in Summer with 4 different hosts.
    1. Porto San Giorgio: It was a great experience living with English family with 2 adorable kids, 3 dogs and 6 cats. Work was about housework, gardening, maintaining bnb, construction work like sanding windows and painting. We(me and mayank) also cooked Indian and hosted Indian dinner night for the family and friends. Learnt different cuisines from the host as he is a great cook.
    2. Nardo, Lecce: It was about sharing space with 4 other workawayers and experience the raw feel of living with the open shower and toilet. Work was mainly about construction like plastering wall, floor also harvesting figs and almonds as the host is restoring the house and learning different small construction techniques.
    3. Mt Etna, Sicily: The house is located at the beautiful location and host is an event organiser and musician which means there was events most of the days and musical nights. Work was the help organising space before and after events, working with chef as they have the home organic restaurant and be part of the events. Host's father has been to India 18 times, so it was pleasure to cook Indian for them .
    4. Marina Di Ragusa, Sicily: The host has a bnb and big sustainable permaculture garden. I realised my love for gardening and harvesting in this place. Mornings were usually spent in planting seeds and trees, harvesting vegetables, almonds, figs, and managing with the BnB. Host is travelling soon to India, so i was helping them with the planning, learning language etc. Cooked Indian quite a lot of times.

  • Languages spoken

    English is our official language. Its almost a year in Italy so I can understand very basic Italian basic. Looking forward to learn different languages.

  • Age

    27 & 27

  • What else ...

    We love cooking and experimenting with that, and learning new dishes. Wood love to cook some Indian food. Love hearing different stories about life and culture, as culture makes architecture.
    I am open to share different stories about India, traditions and cultures.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are vegetarian.

Photos

Feedback