Polly

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/10/2018 - 01/06/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    After working for 30 years in Scotland as an Occupational Therapist and raising 2 x children I decided I wanted to travel and see the world. I sold my house and my possessions in 2016 and started to travel, beginning with Africa where I did some voluntary work teaching English in local schools, I financed and set up a taxi business for the locals in Malawi which they now run with a little help from me via the internet. I have a small mud hut in a little village in Malawi which I now call home and where I return to when not travelling. In 2018/19 I spent 18 months traveling in Asia/Australia where I completed 9 workaways. These workaways included working in guest houses and hostels with general cleaning and managing guests, I have helped with child care looking after two children aged 2 and 3 years of age, I have worked on permaculture farms clearing wooded areas, cutting hedges, preparing beds, weeding, looking after chicken and geese, planting various crops and general maintenance. I have worked on building projects with general labour, painting, assisting in laying flooring and building basic wooden structures. I have also worked on business ventures gathering information from the internet, sales and marketing of products and assisting with the translation of various documents to English. I have assisted with cooking and cleaning in family homes as well as looking after various pets. I am honest and very hard working, I am used to waking when the sun comes up and sleeping when the sun goes down, I can perform most tasks asked of me and am willing to try anything. Although I am happy with my own company I am a sociable person and like to interact with people from all backgrounds and all ages. I live a simple life with no frills and like to help where help is needed.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Cooking, Cleaning, Sewing, Administrative/Computer, Organisational skills, Farming, Teaching, Working with the elderly and disabled, Adapting environment to meet specific needs, general exercise, arts and crafts,

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    54

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback