Polly

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Norway, Thailand, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/01/2020 - 31/08/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi I'm Polly,

    I am currently studying Plant Science at university in the UK. I am currently looking for a host for the spring as during this time I have very little University work, so would like to use my free time in a meaningful and helpful way.

    Outside of studying, I love being outside, exploring and hiking. Other hobbies that I have acquired over lockdown are knitting, sewing and some woodwork using wood from fallen tree branches and some pallets. Yoga and spirituality also interests me and I am learning more about this each day.
    Last year, before Covid, I travelled to Germany, Sweden and Asia, as a Workawayer on various different organic and biodynamic farms. I really loved contributing to such amazing projects and learning about sustainable living and food production.
    At home in the UK, I volunteer on a community farm where there are alpacas, pigs, ducks and chickens and a permaculture garden. I am very grateful for this place because it brings together a community of like-minded, enthusiastic people.
    These experiences have lead me to be very passionate about growing food and living sustainably and I would love to learn more.

    I am open minded, hardworking and willing to help the best I can :)

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Hiking
    Sustainability
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    I have worked part time in catering for 2 years so I have skills as a waitress and working in a kitchen.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I am post-beginner level in German and looking to improve. I am studying as part of my university course but would love to be in contact with someone fluent so that we can exchange language skills because I think real conversations are one of the best ways to learn. I am from the UK so will offer my help with English in anyway I can.

  • Age

    20

  • What else ...

    I enjoy being outdoors- cycling and hiking. Also love cosy nights in playing board games or cards and knitting.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback