Pina

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/09/2019 - 31/08/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey everyone,
    my name is Pina, I am 21 years old and from Germany. I just finished university and got my bachelor degree. My subjects are German and History and I studied to become a teacher. Before I start my Master I want to see more of our world, so I decided to join workaway.
    I am a very happy person, who likes it to read or watch series (I am a bit of a nerd). Moreover I am part of our local volunteer fire brigade and do some sports.
    I have already some internationals experiences, when I was going in 11th grade in school, a girl from the USA stayed in our family for nearly one year. It was a very great and interesting time. And my host sister and I are still very close and visit each other. I think this time made me so interested in other cultures, ways of life and meeting wonderful new people. Since I joined workaway, I already spend six month in Ireland, so I know how it is to live aboard.
    I am a big family person and I like it to spend time with my relatives, specially my two six and three years old nieces.
    So if you need a friendly and funny person to help you and you might be interesting in share your culture,
    I am the right person for you.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have plenty of experiences with children, most of them with my two nieces (6 and 3 years old). But I went also to many camps for kids as a staff member, when I was a teenager. I helped in a vacation camp in the Netherlands for three weeks twice. I was responsible for 6 girls between 10 and 11 there. Then I went to weekend camps from our church for years and helped our pastors there.
    Of course I was also getting experiences during my studies in university, part of the education there ist both theoretical and practical child caring. Theoretical we mainly read essays about strategies to educate and raise children and getting first ideas how you can teach them best. In the practical part we made an intern at a school, where we could practice the theory in real life. I taught classes with a little less than 30 kids in grade 6 and a 11th grade class for about four weeks. It was very fun and I learned a lot in that time.
    I grew up with a cousin with a walking disability, moreover in my first host family I took care for a boy with down syndrom, so I got some experiences with children with special needs. In two other host families I stayed I took also care for the children. In one family it was a cute newborn bay and in the other two happy, funny twin girls age four.
    I also helped a very nice blind lady during my stay in Ireland, so I got some experience in elderly companion and even more knowledge about special needs.
    I already lived alone for almost three years in Germany, so I am able to help with the house keeping.
    I like animals and pets. We used to have a dog my whole childhood, and now I spend a lot time with my sister´s family´s dog. My sister also owns two Ponys, I help her sometimes with them and I rode as a kid. So I know the basics about horses. I am not an expert but willing to learn :)
    I have also experiences in writing and historical working. For my studies I had to wirte multiple essays and thesis. Moreover I worked for our local newspaper and wrote articles for them. There I also learned the very basics of photography.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    I like it to play parlour games, cook and eat together or just have a little chat about what is going on and how the day was going.
    I am very interested in other cultures, so I would love it to join your family and get the chance to make experiences, you can´t make as a tourist.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am vegetarian. I already stayed in non-vegetarian host families and it wasn´t a problem at all. Normally you can just speak about how to handle different diets and than it is normally working for everyone :)

Photos

Me and my familiy.
Me and an other staff member showing the kids of the camp a song.
My Mum and me visiting my host sister in North Carolina.
We fire fighters training for a case of emergency.
Me and my friend in Italy.
My host sister and I while our vacation on Fuerteventura.
vacation camp in the Netherlands
My host sister and me visiting Marburg (Germany).
Enjoying nature.
Me exploring the Cliffs of Moher.

Feedback