Phillip & Mellanie

From: United Kingdom & Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/11/2020 - 01/03/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    *UPDATE OCTOBER 2020*

    Hi, we are currently in Italy where we have spent the summer working in Tuscany for a British company working in tourism. In October we are working on Corsica, Elba and Sardinia preparing the accommodations for winter.
    We would like to stay in Italy for the winter until our jobs start again in March. We also have a car with us.

    My name is Phil and I'm from North Yorkshire in England. The only Workaway I have taken part in (so far) was in Portugal in 2013 for around two months. I was helping build a rural hotel for disabled children, most of the work was construction.
    I have lots of experience in hospitality, from bars, hostels and campsites.
    I have spent practically all my adult life living away from the UK, I have worked in Australia, New Zealand, Bolivia, Italy, Spain, Croatia, Cyprus and France. I am very laid back, hard working, trustworthy, and reliable.

    I am a huge animal/nature lover and the highlight of my travels is the times I have spent living in the jungle in Bolivia on and off for 10 years. I work with rescued animals. I care for a number of animals (mostly jaguars and pumas) and also do a lot of construction. But mostly I spend the day out in the jungle with the cats to try to give them a normal life because they are not able to be released into the wild.
    I have also volunteered at a animal rescue and rehabilitation centres in Guatemala and Texas.
    From time to time I go back to the UK and I work as a an electrical safety engineer which I have been doing for a number of years.
    I have travelled to over 60 countries, and I love learning about different ways of life and meeting new people.

    My name is Mellanie and I’m from Rouveen in The Netherlands. Last year I did my final internship at a campsite in Tuscany for the study Marketing and Communication and later obtained my diploma in this study. I love to travel, meet new people, nature, learn languages and get to know new cultures. Living and working in Italy for 7 months in 2019 has only strengthened that. The final internship I did at the campsite has now become a job.

    I have lots of experience in the field of marketing, communication, hospitality and management. Before I started working in Italy I worked for many years in different restaurants and during my studies I was manager of a restaurant for 7 months.

    As of September 2020 I have changed my job role. I am currently a demontage assistant. This role is mostly physical work. Our job is to prepare the accommodations for winter. One of the main  jobs is taking down canopies from the deckings and then cleaning them so they can be stored away for the winter, it very physically demanding work but I really enjoy it.

    I am a hard worker who is always eager to learn new things. I am very reliable, flexible and I always strive to get the job perfectly done.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    I have done many physical jobs before, many in construction. So I am not afraid of hard work. I have also worked in many customer service positions including hostels and bars/cafe. I really like meeting new people from all around the world and sharing stories and advice on travelling.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    37 & 21

  • What else ...

    I am very reliable and trustworthy, and I am always willing to learn new things.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback