Jérémy & Fanny

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bulgaria, Germany, Hungary, Romania

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2019 - 23/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello!
    We are two students from Fribourg, Switzerland. It’s located in the West part of the country. Fanny studies medicine and Jérémy civil engineering.

    We enjoy dancing salsa together and various sports: boxing, playing basketball, mountain biking (mainly Jérémy, but Fanny too when she’s motivated^^). But we are also very interested in other kinds of more alternative sports like yoga or even bo staff spinning.

    Jérémy has already experimented living in a farm and also in an alpine chalet. These were very good experiences and opportunities to learn how to take care of farm animals, although both sites were actually conventional exploitations. Jérémy has lived a hard, simple life during these weeks, especially in the alpine chalet.
    Jérémy works a little bit for associations in his region. For example, he has been coaching children under 10 in a Basketball team and he is currently working in a concert hall called Ebullition. The main work here for him was to welcome and make dinner for the artists and the personnal, almost 20 persons.
    Agricultural works like growing vegetables and gardening don't frighten Jérémy. He is interested by all kinds of animal care, especially horses. And he could also try to apply his knowledge in conventionnal house building, based on what he is learning. He is very curious about alternative building ways too.

    On the other hand, Fanny enjoys all kinds of creative activities, be it indoors or outdoors, like painting landscapes, dancing and crafting or designing different objects. She would love to learn about permaculture and likes experimenting with DIYs (like making her own beauty products). Besides each year she organises an open house day designed for children at the local hospital which is called « Teddy bear hospital ». Although she does’nt have a language certificate she is quite fluent in English and speaks Hungarian and French as her mother tongues. Thus she would love to help people learn those languages or even get to know the basics of the local language!

    So our goal is to basically experiment an alternative/ ecological way of life which is closer to nature, be it off grid or not. Gardening, permaculture, farmstay and unconventionnal crafting (mud bricks for example) are fields in which we would love to gain experience.
    Why? Simply because last semester we stayed all week long inside buildings so we definitely need some fresh air.

    We’re looking forward to meeting you and your lifestyle!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Language skills
    We speak both French, German and English
    Fanny speaks Hungarian and Jeremy is currently learning Hungarian, Romanian and Russian.
    Practice skills:
    We can learn a lot in this domain.
    Here are the skills we can provide:
    - Help with language learning
    - Animal care
    - Cooking, cleaning and householding
    - Medical knowledge (but on a very basic level since Fanny is at the beginning of her cursus)
    - Civil engineering skiffs (Hydraulic (canalisation), Structure dimensioning (wood, concrete), Géotechnic (slope stability, compaction
    of soil) , drawing on Autocad (plan of what you want))
    (If you need advice in those fields, it is preferable that Jeremy comes a first time to assess the exact problem and he can then take some time to think about a solution (or even make his semester project out of it :) ). After that, in case a solution is properly found and agreed on, he could come back a second time and help with it.

  • Languages spoken

    Spoken languages: english, hungarian, french, german, little bit of romanian and russian

  • Age

    23 & 23

  • Nationality

    Suisse and Hungarian

  • What else ...

    Jeremy enjoys playing chess and we both love any simple board games like UNO or monopoly etc..

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Fanny should avoid eating too much milk and eggs, but small amounts are ok.

    • Special dietary requirements
      When possible, Fanny will avoid dairy-based products, but she is flexible with that too

Photos

Basketball team
View of Mountains near our city
The alpine chalet in German part of Switzerland
The return to the farm
Walter and Jérémy
Team of civil engineering lab

Feedback