Peter & Elaine

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/07/2020 - 01/10/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status


  • Description

    8 years ago now, we decided to escape from the conventional life of endlessly working to buy a nice house and car and lifestyle that we realised we didn't really want anyway. We sold our house and nearly all our possessions and decided to go travelling in a motorhome (It was supposed to be a sailing yacht, but that's another story).
    We've spent the last few years driving around quite a bit of Europe and beyond. We’ve been as far East as the Black Sea and as far South as The Sahara in Morocco and this year we plan to cover more of Eastern Europe before heading north to Scandinavia. To say this experience has broadened our horizons is an understatement! It has been interesting; challenging at times, and left us hungry for more. We do however feel that we often struggle to understand the local way of life and have little opportunity to get to know anyone. Joining Workaway has much improved this and we have enjoyed the endless and varied opportunities it can provide. We’ve done painting, pointing, bathroom rebuilding, bottle window building, mud plastering, established vegetable gardens, looked after goats, chickens, donkeys and cats. We've helped to build a ‘Super-Adobe’ house, planted and harvested for an organic veg box scheme, tried and attempted to cook a variety of new recipes, built compost loos and solar showers and even attempted to learn some French with a bunch of Belgians in Portugal. We’ve also spent some time as campsite wardens and house-sitters.
    We are probably on the introvert end of the spectrum. We like a meal and a chat with a small number of people rather than a noisy party. We are happier in the natural world than in the city. Peter has skills in many aspects of the building trade and is happy with a paint-brush in his hand. Elaine has recently been rediscovering her love of gardening and vegetable growing. Neither of us are as fit and agile as we'd like to be but hopefully maturity and sincerity make up for that. We are particularly interested in learning more about permaculture and natural building techniques.
    There are so many cultures and people we haven't met, experiences we haven't had... let's bring it on!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • More details about your skills

    Building maintenance - cleaning, painting, general maintenance, plumbing, electrics. Administration and customer care. Gardening. Limited animal care. Driving, Cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    52 & 52

  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    Our motorhome is 3.5t weight. It is just over 6m long, 2.4m wide and 3m high. We will need a safe and level place to park it when we are visiting you and obviously your access road needs to be suitable. Dependent on circumstances we are often happy to stay in it.
    If you have concerns / queries about this, please ask.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Some pollen (hayfever). Bee stings.

    • Special dietary requirements