Peter

  • Slovakia (Slovak Republic)
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Explorer
Top Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

  • Description

    Beginning of 2018 i decided to quit my job in finance and leave my home country to pursue long term dream and spend 1 year in New Zealand, exploring its beautiful nature, culture and learn photography along the way. During my stay i wanted to try volunteering as i considered it a perfect opportunity to get to know local people, be useful for community and possibly gain some new knowledge as well. In those 12 months which followed i spent workawaying much more then i originally planned and it exceeded my expectations greatly.

    My workaway experience in New Zealand involved common stuff like gardening, working around (and in) a house, baby and dog sitting, but also some special experiences like teaching kids in local school, helping with preparation of photography exhibition or preparing pet photo portrait.

    Before New Zealand, most of my adult life I spend working for corporations, consider myself skilled with MS Excel spreadsheets, calculations, forecasting, PCs as such. During my college times, i spent two summers in UK working for local farmer, helping around farm, but mostly selling dairy ´homemade´ ice-cream in various corners of the country.
    Also spent some time working on construction sites where i was working as a iron fitter and general help.
    Since i am passionate about photography, any job related to this area would be a big plus.
    Except above mentioned i can offer my will to learn and be helpful, I am ready to handle new tasks as those are the ones which keep us growing.

    After New Zealand I spent next 2 years in western Canada and since early 2021 I am back home in Slovakia, currently working.

    One day I would like to workaway again, be it in New Zealand, Canada or some other new destination. Looking forward to more great experiences, life is too short to spend it just dreaming.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    Videography
    Photography
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    History
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Being an elderly companion

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    MS Excel spreadsheets calculations, MS Powerpoint presentations, optimalization of processes - related to my former full-time jobs.

    Photography shooting & postprocessing, PC & internet & software troubleshooting - related to my hobbies.

    Communication with customers, sale, work on construction site, general maintenance and more - related to temporary jobs during my university studies and my previous workaway experiences.

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    Slovak

  • What else ...

    I love photography, especially nature and landscape one, some of my favorite photos can be seen here:

    https://peter-kolejak.pixels.com/

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback