Peter

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Georgia, Greece, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/07/2019 - 28/07/2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Kia ora, I am a kiwi travelling through Europe on my mountain bike with everything I need to survive loaded on! I love riding my bike, because it gives me the freedom to go almost anywhere I want. I enjoy being outside, working hard, finding solutions and being creative. If I am not riding my bike, I like swimming, learning to surf better and eating good food! I am on workaway because I want to learn about the many different ways people live their life and gain some new skills I can apply to my life.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    At home in New Zealand I worked as a Mountain Bike Instructor and Trail Builder, at my local trails in Woodhill Forest. I enjoy teaching and communicating with people and am interested in the different ways people learn. My schooling was at a Rudolf Steiner School, so I am interested in alternative education and thinking outside the square. Trail building was not only my job, but is also my passion. It is so good to be working hard outside creating beautiful trails for others and myself to enjoy! I have many skills from my work back home, such as operating a digger to build trails, use of chainsaw, leading a trail building crew, teaching mountain bike skills, teaching bicycle safety to school kids, being a bicycle mechanic, building wooden structures on trails and I even have experience picture framing at my father's business. I hope I can put these skills to use, develop them and learn many more!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I have now helped out at many workaways along my travels and have gained a lot more useful skills. I have worked with all sorts of tools on building projects, helped with landscaping jobs, worked in gardens, built fences, looked after animals, served food in a restaurant and much more. I hope I can help you with some of these skills and learn more!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian, and eating most seafood

Photos

A jump I built in the woods at a workaway in my spare time.
A jump I built in the woods at a workaway in my spare time.

Feedback