Peter

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Panama

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/04/2020 - 31/10/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi, I'm Pete, 56, very young at heart, British/American, and an avid traveller and adventurer; I'm a positive, kind person, and I'm here in Costa Rica looking to help create a wonderful, new shared experience. Pura vida!

    I have worked for big companies around the world, but have simplified my life completely and now pursue happiness, kindness, and shared experiences over any form of money or material. So I transitioned my life from a corporate one to become a digital nomad (remote writer) as well as a house and pet sitter, and now a Workawayer.

    I've been house and pet sitting for nearly 3-years continuously (living out of a backpack) and have recently been looking after a property and kittens in the cloud forest near San Ramon, and on assignment (dog walking, gardening, house help and minor renovation) in Magallanes.

    I'm currently caretaker for a large, luxury eco resort in Uvita, and expect this to take me thru June. After this, I'm open and would like to travel to other areas of Costa Rica, and into Panama.

    I'm best with people, pets and projects, but have a multitude of skills and would consider any assignments that involve a positive environment.

    I have excellent people skills, I've cared for all sorts of property and pets, and I'm an experienced writer, especially for sales/marketing type literature. I'm completely trustworthy, reliable, respectful of all the homes I stay in, and love to help people in a mutually beneficial manner.

    I love that I'm still learning, but also that I can bring a wealth of global experience and a positive attitude to everything I do.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I've been a trusted house and pet sitter for almost 3 years continuously. I've looked after cats, dogs, sheep, goats, chickens and reptiles from the UK to The Pyrenees to Spain, Greece, The Black Forest, and now into North and Central America. I absolutely love this work and way of living/traveling, and I've had exceptional reviews from all of my global clients - I'd be happy to share these with you.

    As well as animal skills, I excel at people skills (I worked directly with clients for many years), I write very well (with a focus on sales/marketing literature), I'm a creative thinking, but I'm also good with numbers.

    My career is global and varied - I've worked for a world-renowned newspaper in London, for a big, global client-focused company in San Francisco, I've been a gardener, a bee keeper and most recently a writer and dedicated house and pet sitter. It's an interesting journey and one that has given me much experience and a great perspective on many aspects of life and living.

    I'm now very focused on making my Workaway experience a very positive and mutually beneficial one.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    57

  • What else ...

    I'm an avid hiker, most recently in New Zealand, the Himalayas, Spain, Greece, Oregon and Vancouver Island.

    I love to cycle (I recently toured Cuba by bike), kayak, and travel - especially to places where I can help with pets, projects and people. I practice yoga as much as possible.

    I'm passionate about the environment, living more simply (less is most definitely more), I love all animals, I'm mostly vegetarian, I'm genuine, and above all I just try to be helpful and kind.

    I might be a bit older now (think more experienced, responsible and quieter!), but I'm fun, occasionally interesting, and always looking to help and to create a positive experience with new people.

    Oh yeah, I'd love to learn to surf.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback