Christine

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/01/2017 - 31/03/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    604

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I'm practical and fit for physical work and am enthusiastic to help out in any way I can be useful! I'm keen to be a part of developing other peoples dreams by volunteering while I figure out what my own is.
    The Plan:
    I am hitting the road around Europe in 2017 in a small campervan with my little dog, Bonnie (see pictures).
    I'm keen do some honest physical work and learn from the interesting and varied lives that others live.
    I am setting myself the challenge of visiting 12 SOS Childrens Villages, in 12 countries in 12 months. I will be running a fundraising campaign throughout the year to raise money for this charity.
    https://www.chuffed.org/project/12months
    In exchange for work I hope for:
    Somewhere to park my small campervan with little dog.
    Potential opportunity to offer massage to raise money for our outreach project.
    Background:
    For the past few years I have been working in Finance and HR for an Arts Centre in Edinburgh as well as running my own pop up events hobby business; Pea Head Events.
    I grew up in Ireland but moved to Scotland for university 15 years ago.
    I am not a great sports person but I contribute by working at sporting events for Athletes Angeles offering pre and post sport massage to participants. I am qualified in Swedish and Acupressure Massage and hold all relevant insurance and first aid certifications.
    Most recently I have teamed up with a fellow therapist and friend to combine massage work with raising money for the SOS Children's Village in Thailand and the Philippines. www.healtheworldmassage.com
    We work promoting an ethos of Get one, Give one, meaning every massage purchased with us we fund a nurturing care package to an underprivileged child.
    I have decided to further this mission and take to the road around Europe with my little dog in tow.
    We also promote the Give one, Get one idea and to attempt to offset my carbon for this trip I will work on One Seat, One Tree - for every flight/ car ride taken we plant at least one tree or donate to those who do (there will be many planted by 2018!)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    IT, Finance, HR, Admin
    Hospitality, Catering/ Cooking, Events management
    Swedish & Acupressure and Sports Massage
    Gardening, conservation
    Tree planting
    Child care, games & teaching
    Crafts & Upcycling
    Experienced with horses (moderately), dogs and adore all animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    Irish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      N/A

Photos

Feedback