Patricia

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Andorra, Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2020 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    In 2016 I had my first workaway experience in a project in Nepal. I was working with disabled and orphan kids and took care of street dogs for 2 month. When I came back, I quit my office job and started my next journey in 2017. I volunteered for 5 month at a shelter in Thailand and went back to the project in Nepal for one month. It was defenitly the best time of my life! It made me truly happy to help somewhere, where help is really needed and meet people with similar mind and interests.
    In May 2019 I was helping at a shelter in bulgaria but unfortunatly only for 11 days because I’m a selfemployed dogsitter in Switzerland, so I couldn’d go away for longer. But now back in Switzerland, I know that I need to go back volunteering. Because I miss this pure feeling of happiness when helping others. I’d like to start in April 2020 with open end. Now I‘m looking for a place where I can help for a longer period of time and where I can bring my dog Lucy with me. She is 13 years old, medium-sized and is used to other dogs, cats and likes people. I‘m happily looking forward to find my next host.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    In the shelters I’ve been working before, I got to know many different kinds of work and I really liked all the tasks, because I knew it was all for the dogs. From cleaning pee/poo/vomit, de-ticking or giving medication to dogs, to cut the gras with shears because the mower was not working or cooking chicken hearts for the dogs. The prior projects made me very flexible, creativ and made me realize, that if you do what makes you truly happy you will be happy no matter how dirty or tired you are.
    Except for the work with animals, I also like cooking, drawing, weeding and other work arround the garden. I‘m an openminded person that likes working hard and living in harmony. I‘m very much looking forward to learn new things.

  • Languages spoken

    German (mother tongue), English (good), French (a little bit)

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Swiss

  • What else ...

    I’m looking for a place where I can stay for longer. I love it to really get to know a new country, the host and the work that needs to be done. If I find a good place and it fits for both sides, I can imagine to help there for a year or even longer.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Playing with Rambo in Kathmandu.
The day when i had to say goodbye to all these cute boys after two month.
At the vet in Songkhla with street dog ”big boy“.
Playing the spoon-game with the orphan boys in Kathmandu.
Giving medicine to a street dog in Nepal.
My 12 years old dog Lucy

Feedback