Pat_and_Liz_Hughes

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

    Activities we are interested in:

    We are both reasonably fit and enjoy walking in the country, we scuba dive, like music, eating and socialising

    Our next destination:

    United Kingdom
    View all
  • Description

    My wife liz and I have just come back from 18 months travelling South East Asia, Australia and New Zealand. We backpacked, something we have never done before (mid life crisis).
    We pushed ourselves and did things we've really wanted to do like Sky diving, trekking for miles and miles, scuba diving some fabulous places! We found that staying with local people gave us the best out of learning about the cultures and lifestyle of the people.
    We found ourselves teaching english in Cambodia and Java. We stayed 2 months in Philippines during which we worked as volunteers for an organisation called All Hands, building Typhoon proof houses for local people, learning new skills like digging out large foundations, mixing cement, and making windows.
    In New Zealand we stayed on a 600 acre farm in the middle of nowhere helping. This was through Workaway. We cleaned, did lots of gardening and helped shoe horses. They had hundreds sheep, horses and cattle!
    All this was a great experience and now we are back in the UK we wish to still involve ourselves with new things, willing to have a go at almost anything!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Languages
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a Project Specialist but have qualifications in teaching and a couple of degrees. I am doing a councelling course and starting my own life coaching business. I did work in the building trade a long time ago. Am not a bad cook as I have worked in food product development. I enjoy growing fruit, vegetables and herbs in my green house and garden.

    My wife is a driving instructor - therefore has the patience of a Saint - but her job is very teaching orientated

    We are both reasonably fit, we like walking, scuba, football, netball and zumba

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    56 & 50

  • Nationality

    English

  • What else ...

    We are both non-smokers, reasonably educated, always up for new challenges and both have good personalities - but then we would say that! lol

    If you want to know more please ask away, it is always great being in contact with people from around the globe.

    Best Regards,
    Pat and Liz Hughes

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Penicilllin

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Friends

Photos

Feedback