Paolina

From: Mexico

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/06/2019 - 01/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm originally from Mexico City, but moved to the beach by Banderas Bay in the state of Nayarit, Mexico, for the past 6 years. Since then, I learned the art of living part time here and part time somewhere else, because there's not a lot of work in the summer time. So I started looking to explore the world while helping others by house/pet sitting. I studied English Literature, so I love reading, writing plays, acting, and teaching English and Spanish. I'm also a freelance translator, editor, proofreader. So, I can work online pretty much from anywhere, I only need my laptop and internet access. I'm fully bilingual in Spanish and English and I can speak basic Italian, though it's not as fluent as my English because I was self-taught. That's why I want to go to Italy to learn it better, and would love to start learning some French too! I'm looking to go to Europe to visit as many places as possible, but mostly Italy and France. I’m very caring, patient and responsible with children, pets and house chores. I have been a house/pet and sitter for the past 5 summers, and that has showed me different parts in Mexico and close by like, Nayarit, San Miguel de Allende, Southern Baja California and Canada. I've always loved meeting new people, cultures, languages and learn as much as I can. I love learning and teaching English and Spanish, and now my goal is to expand my language skills along with more stamps on my passport!!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    English/Spanish translations, content editing and copywriting in both languages; spanish teacher for english speakers and english teacher for spanish or italian native speakers. I can type very fast too to make transcriptions. I have a good voice for recordings, radio, story telling, give presentations and stage acting. I also love yoga, bike riding and hiking. Exploring nature and anywhere new to me.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish, English and Italian

  • Age

    37

  • Nationality

    Mexican

  • What else ...

    I studied English literature and found that the best way to learn any language is through literature, especially dramatic texts or movie scripts. I love doing anything related to theater, literature and art in English, Spanish and Italian. I have been a House/Pet sitter before: started in San Francisco, Nayarit in the summer of 2015; then I had two experiences in San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato during the summer of 2016. My next summer I was house sitting in Rosarito, Baja California; and last summer I was for a shorter period working in Canada. Traveling and working is the way to go for me... As long as I'm single, I guess ;)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Sulfas

    • Special dietary requirements
      Eating healthy

Photos

My first summer in San Miguel de Allende looking at Huipiles.

Feedback