Ottilie

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Indonesia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/06/2019 - 01/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello hello, so happy you clicked on my profile! My name is Ottilie and I am from the Netherlands. After almost four years of working long hours as a lawyer, I decided that it was time for a change. I wanted to explore the world and yes, also myself. So I quit my job, sold most of my stuff and bought a one way ticket to go travelling (yes of course, I kissed my partents goodbye first as well ;)). I believe that we (as human being) are capable of living so many different lifes, all with their own charm and I’d love to explore so many of them.
    Travelling has been a great adventure so far. Generally I prefer to travel slow and skip the very touristic places as I like to discover the everyday life and culture instead.
    After three lovely months of travelling in Nepal (of which more than 7 weeks trekking in the Himalaya, lots of sightseeing, yoga, meditation and some teaching of English) I’m up for a new adventure: Malaysia.
    For having lived almost my whole life in (relatively big) cities, I am well adapted to citylife. However I am a big nature lover and have experienced that living close to nature brings me great peace. Be it mountains, oceans, lakes, forrests and even just the countryside.
    About me furthermore.. I would describe myself as a calm, flexible and openminded person. I am responsible and have a good work ethic. Problemsolving is one of the things I enjoy doing. It might be a puzzle at first, but it gives great satisfaction when the seemingly unsolvable problem got solved after all. Learning new things gives me energy and joy. Beside all this I am considered to be an idealist, at least trying to do my part in making this world a better place.
    Even though more introverted than extraverted, I am a sociable person who likes to interact with others. I believe that connecting with others is not only enjoyable and fun, but that one can learn a lot from it, as everyone has their own and unique story and vision of life – combined this could lead to great things. Nonetheless, I enjoy being by myself as well. In fact some daily ‘alone-’ or ‘me-time’ is needed to ‘charge my battery’ as one could say – no worries though: I won’t lock myself in a room for hours ;)
    As for my hobbies, I enjoy being out in nature; doing sports; expressing myself in writing, modelling (clay) and painting; viting musea and art galleries; scuba diving and snorkeling; doing yoga; cooking vegetarian meals and having a good time with friends.
    I am willing and prepared to do many different types of jobs. When in university I’ve worked in lunchrooms, gelateria’s and coffeeshops as sidejobs. For many years I have been working as a babysitter and tutor as well. This type of work is therefore more or less familiar to me. I am exhited to try and learn new things as well though, so open to almost any kind of job.
    I hope to meet you one day!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - I have experience with hospitality (working in lunchrooms, etc.);
    - I have experience working with children (babysitting and working as a tutor to help children with their homework);
    - I can teach my motherlanguage Dutch or English or Italian, these languages I speak well. I can help you with some French or German but I am not fluent in these languages;
    -I can teach some things about yoga and or meditation (not (yet) a certified yoga teacher though);
    -I have experience gardening and, small scale, harvesting;
    - I'd say that am creative (although I am not an artist and don't expect a Van Gogh, cause you'd be disappointed ;))
    - General tasks as cooking (vegetarian) and cleaning;
    - Taking care of animals;
    - General maintaining/improvement of building tasks such as painting walls;
    - Helping with website;
    - I am patient and a good listener;
    - plus.. eager to learn new skills!

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, Italian I speak well. Languages I speak, yet less fluently: French, German

  • Age

    29

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      House dust mite

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback