Orkun

From: Turkey

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Germany, Italy, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/06/2019 - 12/06/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

Watch my profile video


  • Description

    Hi Future Hosts and Travel Buddies,

    I'm Orkun from Istanbul, Turkey.
    I have studied journalism but over the years I mostly have worked in business tourism field by organizing trade shows and exhibitions around the world including North Africa, Middle East and Europe.
    Between education and work experience, I have participated in long term EVS project (European Voluntary Service) in Germany, Cologne which was the best year of my life and also brought me to this very important and also adventurous decision;

    Doing things willingly and voluntarily!

    I see,
    Volunteering is similar to composing music.
    There are thousands of ways and billions of combinations for us to help each other.

    Sometimes by learning , sometimes by teaching but mostly by understanding each other.

    Sometimes bass and drum , sometimes a whole orchestra.

    I wish to 'compose teamwork' with you very soon!

    Cheers,

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    During my voluntary service in Germany ,
    I was supervising and assisting children (5-9 years old) in their free times and homework and at lunch.
    We had lots of laugh , I remember, by playing garden and table games and brain teasers together.
    I was also teaching them English in our free times, in exchange I was learning german from kids :)
    Such a perfect deal!
    Learning should be mutual, I always believe ; no matter with whom you practise.

    Beyond that,

    Good communication skills due to my education
    Self motivation
    Adaptation to complicated life areas and situations
    Playing Guitar and Piano - learnt by myself
    Video and Photography
    Tour Guiding
    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal Care
    Art Project
    Language Practise
    Teaching English and (a bit of) German
    Shopping
    Child Care

    I learn quick.

  • Languages spoken

    I speak English and German. I am also quite keen on learning Spanish for my future South America trip.

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    Turkish

  • What else ...

    There is one word called 'heimatlos' which is one of the most epic words in german language in my opinion eventhough it sounds dramatic to those who like to be in their 'green/safe zones'

    It can be translated as home/landless but more poetic.

    In accordance with my current life experience,
    Heimatlos is a great way to live this life.
    There has been , is and will be always something to learn from anyone if you are able to access that vision.

    Exactly on this matter , I see workaway as a huge posibility to extend that vision by participating in local zone of a new country and experience their feeling,life opinion,routines and so on 'inside'.

    I also would like to create a youtube channel called ' A Local EyeDea'.
    I can not think of any other platform for gethering with locals better than Workaway.
    Thus,
    I can film our experience such as daily tasks and show people how a day or a week in your facility or home or farm looks like, in order to publish on youtube , if you will allow me, of course.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback