Oliver

  • Canada
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there!

    I am 22 years old and currently live in Oamaru, New Zealand where I have remained in a small bubble and adhered to all Covid-19 Lockdown restrictions. I'm from the Canadian Prairies, but have called Vancouver Island home for the past five years. I'm a columnist, blogger, and retired professional cyclist.

    I've been doing Work/Trade on and off in Oamaru since February, and before that I did four months in Hawaii! The past few months, I've been tree planting in Otago. I'm hoping that once the Covid-19 situation allows, I can find a place near Abel Tasman to work and live.

    I plan to stay in New Zealand for up to two years.

    This trip, for me, is about exploration, both inward and outward. I've devoted much of my life and nearly all my adult life to being a professional athlete. But the confines and conformity of that lifestyle no longer suit me, and slowly, timidly, I've been stepping back. Leaving a passion behind, I'm stumped by the infinite options in front of me, and through travel I intend to dip my toes in different walks of life, meet new people, see new places, and experience new things.

    I love adventure. Multi-day hikes, waterfalls, road trips, camping, listening to music and writing are perhaps the most satiating of activities for me. Cooking as well. I'm enjoying accessing more creativity lately too, and write poems, take photos and sometimes marry the two as a bit of a hobby. One of my biggest goals for this trip though, is to become a decent surfer, which will take ages.

    I'm a very social person. Hosting dinner parties and cooking (vegan food) with and for my closest friends is my preferred way to spend an evening. Sitting round the table hours after the food is done and sharing stories, playing cards and maybe sharing some drinks brings me such joy.

    I don't have many specialized skills beyond writing, but am an excellent labourer. I have loads of experience with landscaping and odd jobs around the yard or home such as painting, deconstruction, rough hands-on work and cleaning. My preferred schedule would be a bit flexible, with plenty of work outside. ideally physical work.

    My current work/trade in Oamaru has had me stack 25 tonnes of firewood, use a chainsaw to fell trees, demolish several sheds, deconstruct and re-build others (with help), paint a lounge, sow a lawn, help with childcare, clean, build a fence, garden to name a few tasks.

    I look forward to connecting with people and learning/sharing!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    Kind, sociable and a great team player. Hard working, disciplined, honest, efficient and effective. Very keen to learn, and learn quickly. Love to be outside, and work well in any conditions. Very fit, and can do hard labour. Great with children. Cood cook.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I am currently looking for a place to work and stay in Queenstown / Wanaka, New Zealand starting in May(ish).

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback