Niall

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Ireland
    View all
  • Description

    I'm a 40 something that has enjoyed a varied life; an international career as a consultant project manager/ analyst and a former trustee of a children's charity in Kenya. I've travelled a bit and really found that I get an understanding of a place through the people I've met, rather than sightseeing.

    The last few years have been full on, so I've decided to take time out to enjoy making a contribution to workaway rural projects in Ireland as a potential precursor to a permanent move.

    I'm interested to learn about running a farm or homestead, off-grid living, renovation of property and land or alternative approaches to life. I've talked about getting back to a rural life for over a decade, so now is the time to take the next steps and scope out what that might be like. I thought workaway would be a good way to test the theory and see if it is for me.

    My grandparents were from Ireland, I grew up in rural Wales but have been based out of Brighton for the last 20 years.

    My corporate experience is unlikely to be useful but feel free to poke about my LinkedIn profile (https://www.linkedin.com/in/opssynergy).

    I'm good at DIY and can cook. I'm also good with kids. Whilst I'm older than most workaway people I'm fit enough; I can run a 5k, like hiking and am stronger than average. I'm looking forward to being more physical for a while, as I've been wedded to a laptop for far too long.

    I also cook a few dishes that will delight, mostly veggie (although I'm no longer vegetarian, I still tend to cook what I know).

    I've decided that I'll probably travel with my little dog, so he has interesting places to sniff around in his twilight years. He's a Jack Russell Miniature Pincer cross, 11 years old, passive, sleeps on my bed so no bother (I'll bring my own bedding so this isn't an issue). He's good with kids, people and other dogs. He has experience of living on a stud farm, so knows the ropes around livestock.

    I'll drive over from the UK so will have a car.

    Looking to set off Mid-Feb and will probably for a couple of months but perhaps more. I'll spend spare time exploring, checking out property and work or business opportunities in Ireland.

    I've marked myself as a smoker but it's been a vape for over a year.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Politics / Social justice
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay
    Being an elderly companion
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Teaching
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Charity Work
    General Maintenance
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    General DIY. I worked for my Dad's building company in my youth.

    I'm not qualified but can do electrics, patch plastering, a bit of carpentry (say fitting a kitchen but not making one from scratch), tiling, basic plumbing (no gas), painting, wallpapering etc. I'd be slower than a qualified tradesman but I've owned a couple of houses and taken on quite a bit over the years. If anything I've the foundation skills to learn new skills quickly and in a competent way.

    Older than most work away people but still good for a 5k run, so 5 hours of building, mucking out, digging or planting is fine.

    Can cook.

    Professionally I'm an operations/ project manager so can do finance, management, systems implementation etc but I expect this is not useful for workaway projects. Happy to share my experience if it helps but prefer you hand me a spade rather than a laptop!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    48

  • What else ...

    I am very pro EU
    Fully Covid vaccinated and boosted
    I love to learn from new people

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback