Nora

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/03/2019 - 21/06/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    *️*️ currently spending my last week and a half in Sydney and Melbourne, before flying back home*️*️

    Hello!
    My name is Nora,
    I am 34 years old and I live in the country side of the Netherlands. Since graduating as a photographer from Art School I have been working on my own projects and on commissioned assignments, while also working part-time as a professional nanny, waitress, cleaning lady and gift shop employee (not all at the same time haha). I have also started making sustainable jewellery from repurposed beads and am very interested in interior decorating and organising. I love to sort things and revitalise living- and workspaces by creating room to breathe. When doing this, I very much enjoy repurposing and recycling old (or previously owned) materials to create new things in a sustainable way.

    In 2016 I did 5 months of Workaway in France, where I mostly worked in (vegetable) gardens, helped with the cooking and cleaning of private homes and bnb's. I also helped hosts by taking photo's for them and organising rooms in and around the house. I had some really wonderful Workaway experiences in France and loved getting to know some wonderful people. This is how I ended up in Australia now, I am visiting friends I met in France :) I will be traveling from the Melbourne area up North along the coast.

    I love arts and crafts, music and dancing, animals and working in the garden. I am not a professional gardener, but I am open to learning new things and I don't mind getting my hands dirty. I would love to work in places and with people who also love arts and crafts, nature, music, animals (not necessarily all of them ofcourse :) and having a good time while working on something great! I'm also interested in tiny houses and alternative ways of living, and in learning more about woodworking (on small and bigger projects) and jewellery making. Location-wise I am as flexible as the public transportation allows me to be :)

    If you have any questions, feel free to contact me and if you would like to see some of my photographs, check out www.noraverbraak.com

    See you soon!

  • Type of help

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Aide aux personnes âgées
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Autres
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Aide avec les langues
    Projet artistique
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement

  • What skills do you have?

    - Photography
    - Gardening
    - Cooking (vegan/vegetarian/meat/fish)
    - Arts&Crafts
    - Jewellery making
    - Sorting and organising
    - Decorating/Styling/Make-Overs
    - Social, friendly
    - Improvising
    - Tall (not a skill but comes in handy) - 6 ft/1.83m
    - I speak Dutch, Englisch, French, German and a few words of Spanish
    - Good with animals
    - Writing
    - Good with kids
    - Cleaning

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, German, French

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I have my drivers licence but I will be traveling by public transport. I love music (like to sing and play the guitar) art, movies, good conversations, laughing and dancing and eating with friends.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Amazed by all the beautiful Ozzie birds :)
And also the trees <3
We came across a large collection of old sheet metal punch dies at a local antiques walhalla. So cool!
Enjoying my coffee and brownie during my first week in Australia
Our 2 year old shade garden in Holland, which used to be a dumping spot full of rubbish and green waste. Now it's becoming a greener and happier garden each year.
Just finished making a pathway along side our shade garden :)
Some of my jewellery made from repurposed beads in the window of my workspace back home.
Photographing the sunset on the French Coast
Cleaning the greenhouse with Gazalle from India
Bringing the mattresses in for winter with Nikola. Feeling like the princess and the pea :D
Off to visit some vineyards in the Tarn region with my wonderful hosts and fellow workawayers. I called shotgun on riding in the trunk :)
Made Ottolenghi's fig pie with the most delicious fresh figs from Les Rious <3
Cleaning the BnB's
After photographing my father in the Belgian forest :)
Harley posing like a pro between the fallen chestnuts and in the beautiful evening sunlight at Les Rious. I love dogs!!

Feedback