Nikki

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Greece, Honduras, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Spain, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/10/2018 - 14/12/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    A recent graduate with a passion for animal conservation and welfare I am looking to gain experience in projects around the world before perusing a career in my field. I have previously volunteered in a wide variety of projects that include collecting genetic data from wolves in Slovakia, working hands on with elephants rescued from the tourism industry in Thailand and leading forest structure surveys and landscape mapping in Honduras.

    Previous experience volunteering with Cornwall Reptile and Amphibian Group & Student Invasive Non-Native Group as well as time spent with local zoos, aquariums and monkey sanctuaries has prepared me to work and live in all conditions and enjoy even a wonky hammock in a cloud forest! I have a keen sense of intuition developed through my previous experience volunteering and in my work life and always enjoy learning new things, especially new languages as I have recently started to learn Spanish. I would love to become immersed in local communities and experiences and truly make the most of my time volunteering and create a change in the world.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a wide expanse on knowledge on animal biology and care through my education with specialization on management plans, data collection nutrition, welfare and behaviour which has already been tested and advanced upon through previous volunteering exercises. I have previously worked in retail and so have experience working alongside and serving people and have successfully built team leading skills through this. I am also an avid gardener and love cooking in my free time, with a bit of DIY knowledge on the side!

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    FdSc in Zoological Conservation & BSc in Applied Zoology from the University of Plymouth with basic knowledge of animal first aid and veterinary care.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mild lactose intolerance

Photos

Preparing for a 3 hour trek to a satellite camp during conservation volunteering in Cusuco National Park, Hondouras.
Inputting data that is being collected by my group of volunteers about tree dimensions as part of a carbon study in Honduras
Surviving a flood in the Bolivian Rainforest!
Doggy pile at Huanchaco dog rescue centre.
Confirming wolf tracks in Liptovský Mikuláš, Slovakia
Removal of invasive aquatic plants as part of a student led conservation effort. Cornwall, UK.
ID and health check of a common bushtanager, Cusuco National Park, Hondouras
Overnight sleep outs with make shift tents! Kruger National Park, South Africa.
BSc (Hons) Applied Zoology graduation 2017.
Rhino ear tagging as part of WildCon conservation projects. Krugar National Park, South Africa.

Feedback