Jaco

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Finland, Mexico, Norway, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, Spain, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/02/2016 - 21/06/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    421

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! I´m Jaco, 22 and from the Netherlands. I've started travelling in April 2016. Ever since I did my first workaway, I'm hooked. I think it's a great idea to exchange culture, time and energy, and to become part of another's family.
    The majority of my workaways have been construction and farming related jobs. For now I've got sufficient experience in these areas.
    Now I'd like to try new things where the work is more connected to people, as in hospitality service.

    During my travels I've discovered that I like to be outdoors, work together and be connected with others. Also working together with animals is something I enjoy: I worked with huskies in Norway and mushed as well. That was such a great experience.

    What I'm looking for would be something with tourists and (outdoor) activities, even better if it involves animals!
    I think this really combines the things I find the most enjoyable.
    A Job in a hostel located in a city is also very welcome.

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    After I finished mid-school (age of 17) I started working. I worked on a broccoli farm (manual harvesting), in a construction factory (steel), in a warehouse (delicatessen) and in a small machine factory (assembling). In total I had worked for 4 years before I started travelling. During this period, I gained lots of valuable experiences which, besides of skills, make me a good team player. I understand quickly how things work, but I'm also able to think creatively when necessary,

    Besides of my work experience I am quite sophisticated, because of personal experiences and travelling.
    The first time I went abroad was in April 2016, and ever since I've been abroad most of the time. I've met many different people, been in a range of countries in Europe, stayed in hostels, hitchhiked, been challenged and learnt a lot. Frankly, I can't yet put into words what I've learnt.

    I'm sociable, a good observer and listener and also have the qualities to take responsibility for what I'm doing.

    I do have a driver's license, and am a confident driver.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English and a bit of German.

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    Have a look on my other profiles if you're interested
    Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/jaconijdam/?hl=en
    Couchsurfing (quite out-dated) - https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/jaco-nijdam

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Helping at my aunt's place.
My aunt and uncle's dog, Kumba!
Jesper the Lurcher, Foxy the Kelpie and me having a nap after a Christmas meal.
Foxy and I. She's a kelpie-collie cross, such a lovely dog.
Blake, me and Merce. They are from my workaway in England.
Playing Pictionary and being silly (:

Feedback