Nicole & Gijs

From: Czech Republic

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2018 - 07/01/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    629

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are an adventurous couple, who originally met in Budapest, Hungary in the summer of 2015 while traveling. Over the course of two years we maintained a long distance relationship between Czech Republic and Netherlands, during which time we traveled, camped, hitchhiked, and backpacked around Europe together. In 2018, we lived together in Prague, where we taught English and Elementary education. We like to spend our free time hiking/walking, camping, cooking (and even more eating!), practicing yoga, reading, learning, and attending music festivals. We are both eco & health conscious. We enjoy forming deep connections with our environment while exploring new places. Our latest adventure finds us touring Latin America, which began last September in Guatemala and continues southward. We continuously look forward to forging new friendships, embracing unexpected opportunities, indulging in novel experiences, and immersing ourselves in the cultures of the communities we will help & live in. :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Nicole: TEFL certified, Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education, Food/Service/Hospitality
    Gijs: Bachelor of Science in Economics, Business, & Life Science, Food/Service/Hospitality, English teaching, Fluent in Dutch, English, Spanish

  • Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, Spanish

  • Age

    38 & 23

  • Nationality

    USA & Netherlands

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nuts

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mainly pescatarian

Photos

Cofradia, Honduras. Nov. 2018. Teaching Elementary English and Science.
Fredonia, Colombia. April 2019. Making friends whilst working in a permaculture finca.
Guachaca, Colombia. June 2019. Building dormitories along the riverbanks.
Costa Rica. January 2019. Taking advantage of a beer stop with happy locals. :)
Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica. March 2019. Indulging in a boat ride with local families.
Bahia Drake, Costa Rica. January 2019. Always a beach vagabond. :)
Las Penitas, Nicaragua. December 2018. Creating artwork and making signs for a beach hostel.
Bahia Drake, Costa Rica. February 2019. Getting familiar with the machete.
El Chimbo, Honduras. November 2018. Making pupusas!
Guachaca, Colombia. May 2019. Exploring the secret space where the Mendihuaca River meets the Caribbean Ocean.
Pacho, Colombia. June 2019. Bike riding through the Andes.
Cologne, Germany. 04.2017
Backpacking in Italy. 08.2017
Volcán Acatenango, Guatemala. 09.2018
Switzerland. 02.2018

Feedback