Nicola

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/02/2019 - 22/12/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Like many millennials, I'm currently on a unique journey to find my way to have a positive impact on the world. I found myself reluctant to settle into a 9-5 job so I left the rat race and am trying to forge an alternative lifestyle that suits me. I dream of thriving in an eco community, earning a living in a way which creates positive change either through education or inspiring and facilitating others to care for the environment.
    I’m originally from Manchester but have lived in Nottingham, Leeds and briefly Edinburgh. I have also travelled around the world, living in Sydney for a year. Last year I built myself a campervan as a personal challenge and to enable me to comfortably explore the rest of the UK and possibly Europe in future. Now I would like to explore the UK in my campervan, visiting people living an alternative lifestyle and learn as much as possible from them, giving my time and skills in return.
    I would like to learn more about all things sustainability, minimalistic living, permaculture, the food system and natural building.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I am one of those people who is average at doing a lot of things rather than really really good at a few things. I have a masters degree in civil engineering and worked for 3 years as a bridge designer but decided it wasn’t for me. Hence I’m good at practical problem solving and all the other soft skills that come with that role. Since then I have worked as an after school science club facilitator, volunteered with Raleigh International in Nepal as a team leader building bamboo polytunnels and worked on a local pick your own fruit and veg farm and farm shop.
    Last year I became more interested in growing veg and tried my own little patch but I wouldn’t say I was a skilled grower. I’ve also gained a lot of DIY skills through building my campervan from scratch recently, doing all the woodwork and 12 volt electrical system with solar panels myself.
    I’m also good at drawing, painting, anything crafty, looking after children (Girlguiding Leader for 9 years), and cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    27

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Plant based (flexible vegan)

Photos

Feedback