Nicholas & Pauline

From: United Kingdom & Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2015 - 01/02/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I have had a career in the maintenance & Repair of heavy equipment, the last 15 years as a manager of the dept for a large construction company based in the Caribbean, I can turn my hand to most tasks given to me. My partner Pauline has worked with children with special need for the last 30 years as a nurse/teacher/governess, she is a very skilled DIY person, and can make soft furnishings etc, she is also an excellent cook.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Our first workaway in Costa Rica was at an organic farm in Rivas, San Isidro de el general for 2 months, while there we climbed mount Chirripo the highest mountain in Costa Rica at 3,800m. Our next work away was at the hot springs lodge near Quapos Costa Rica where we designed and set up an organic vegetable garden, Pauline also made all of the curtains for the rooms (by hand) our next project will be to manage a holistic retreat in Ojochal Costa Rica this will end in Nov, after which we plan to move on to Panama.

  • Languages spoken

    English, learning Spanish

  • Age

    64 & 63

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We have a lot of experience between us, and have excelled at all tasks given to us on our previous work away's. I Nick have an intermediate level of Spanish, and Pauline has a lesser level but can communicate very well with staff she has worked with. We are both keen to learn the language as our travels progress.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback