Lynn

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2021 - 31/03/2022

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi. My name is Lynn. Thank you for looking at my profile!

    I have been volunteering since September 2018 and have enjoyed some amazing times with hosts in Portugal, Italy, France, Spain and in the UK. I have enjoyed meeting new people fro all over Europe and some of my hosts and other volunteers have become good friends. I am conscientious, reliable, respectful, sociable and able to think outside the box, to adapt to any given situation or task. I enjoy physical work and will always try to go above and beyond the task set, even if it takes longer than the daily hours set. I am very practical and have a keen eye for detail.

    I have been a volunteer at home stays, as a housekeeper, elderly companion, gardener and cook. I have particularly enjoyed meal planning, food shopping and preparing tasty meals for every day or for three course dinner parties. On some occasions I have been able to expand on my knowledge, having been taught by chefs and cooks, how meals are prepared in their country. I’ve also been able to use new ingredients, depending on the country I was in at the time. I have worked in hotels, on reception, in kitchens and housekeeping and have spent a lot of time working for various hosts at bed & breakfast establishments. I have even spent several weeks on a boat that required refurbishing. I carried out many DIY projects, from painting interiors and garden furniture and gates to making seat and cushion covers for pool and garden chairs. I have reupholstered and covered old sofas, repainted and recovered old rocking chairs and made new headboards. I am also an experienced furniture assembler if you have any flat-pack furniture or I can up-cycle your old Victorian pieces.

    Thank you for reading my profile. Please get in touch if I can be of any help with your current projects.

    Keep safe!
    Lynn

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Qualifications and Skills
    BA Honours Degree in Tourism Management and Hospitality (Hotel) Management
    Computer literate - Word, Excel, Internet and PowerPoint
    Self employed - cafe and ice-cream outlet in a popular tourist area in the UK. Employing 10 staff.
    Interior Design Company Director - designing and fitting furniture and soft furnishing schemes for new-build apartments
    Competent Sailing Crew Certificate
    Basic French and currently studying Spanish.


    I enjoy being creative and having the opportunity to ‘think outside the box’ in relation to home improvements and re-designing/furnishing. I practice yoga regularly and enjoy walking, cycling, reading, listening to music, dancing and social events.

    I hope you have enjoyed reading my profile and I look forward to hearing from you soon, thank you.

    With kind regards,
    Lynn

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I am currently studying Spanish

  • Age

    62

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback