Laura

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/02/2019 - 21/03/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hey everyone! I am currently panning my second trip to Canada after having lived in beautiful BC for one year in 2014/2015. I'm 23 years old and attending university in Germany which is why I can only stay for 2-3 weeks. In one and a half years, I'll be a full high school teacher for English and Geography.

    As you can tell from my pictures, I tend to smile lots and I am absolutely an outdoor and animal person. I have lived with horses and dogs all my life, grown up on a sheep farm when I was little and now I still train horses. However, I got infected with the western riding fever in 2014, thanks to my wonderful trainer from BC, but everyone in Germany still sticks to English riding... So if you have any western trained horses you'd be willing to let me work with and ride, that would be a HUGE asset and just about my only wish in return for my work :)

    I have a driver's license and a year of experience driving in Canada, including trucks. I'd be happy to run any errands for you, do the grocery shopping or whatever if you lend me your vehicle.

    I don't smoke and will also not stay in a house where people smoke inside. I love nature and learning new things about Canadian culture, ranching, farming, healthy cooking, and so many more topics. I can teach all I know to you or your kids if anything I know is of value to you, and I don't mind a bit of rain or some physical work in the barn. Fresh air is good! People usually describe me as fun to be around, very honest, frank, uncomplicated, punctual, very responsible and a little perfectionist.

    I am new on workaway as I used a less modern website before but I have done some farmstays and ranchwork in Canada before and I also worked as an au pair for about seven months, in the Fraser Valley. I could forward you my letter of recommendation which I got upon leaving if you wish so you know you can trust me.

    Let me know if you have any questions! :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    teaching, training horses and dogs, I am quite handy with tools (carpentry, building stuff, cutting trails, fixing smaller things around the house), some cooking, driving

  • Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I would be extremely happy about the opportunity to work with horses and do some western riding as all our horses at home are trained English. I am an accomplished and responsible rider in both disciplines and just love western riding and North American horsemanship more :)
    I would also be very grateful for my own bedroom because I have a very light sleep and want to have 100% energy for every work day at your place! A good night's rest is invaluable to me. But if a single room is not an option, I am of course willing to share!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I can't drink pure cow's milk, eat seafood or very much meat but I am not a strict vegetarian.

Photos

Feedback