Naomi

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Spain - from Feb 2022 until Mar 2022
    View all
  • Description

    I have a deep passion for the natural world and a genuine concern for animal welfare. I take environmental conservation very seriously and believe this can be partially achieved through sustainable farming by protecting the ecosystem, as well as enhancing quality of life for communities through balance and moderation. My passion stems from going on family holidays to a working farm in Devon every year since the age of one. From this very early age my love for animals and the farming life was acknowledged and I now thrive on any opportunity to get involved.

    I’m a well-travelled, active person who enjoys climbing, long walks and anything outdoors, always preferably with animals!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Writing
    Music
    Photography
    Culture
    History
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I have spent most of the past two years working on farms, most of my time spent on the farm in North Devon mentioned previously in my description. I started there for lambing and stayed on for 5 months during lockdown, experiencing a change of seasons on the farm. After these 5 months I continued working at various mixed livestock farms, including dairy. I've worked with sheep, organic chickens, cattle, horses (basic care), pigs, geese, ducks, free flying conures and lots of wonderful dogs. During this past year I have got stuck in with all aspects of farming life, I'm always willing to give a new experience a go!

    I was supposed to leave for Australia on a working visa in April 2020 but due to COVID-19 my plans have been put on hold. In the meantime I'm looking to build experience by gaining understanding of different farming techniques and lifestyles, which will all be highly beneficial further down the line. I feel like I have already learnt so much and I'm told that I'm a keen worker who is happy to work alone and get stuck in. I enjoy hands on, physical labour and a good challenge while understanding that there are some jobs that 'just have to be done', no matter how mundane or slow. I'm quick to pick up new skills and have good initiative. I will always ask questions in order to gain full understanding and extend my knowledge and skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I love hearing different languages while travelling, they fascinate me and I would love to be able to speak more! Particularly interested in Spanish.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    I enjoy walking (preferably with a dog!) and exploring outdoors. I'm used to spending time on my own and do think it is important to embrace solitude. Of course, I do enjoy a good laugh, games and pointless facts!


    I am triple vaccinated but believe in the individual's right to choose, a decision only you can make yourself, for yourself.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      My body works best when not eating after 18:00

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback