Bryan

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/07/2019 - 31/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

Watch my profile video


  • Description

    I am from Missoula Montana. I grew up walking through the mountains and meandering around the lakes and through rivers. I speak fluent English and speak intermediate Spanish. I hope to be fluent enough in Spanish in the next year or two so I can write songs in Spanish and be able to say exactly what I want to say.

    I have been back and forth to Colombia over the last two and a half years spending a year and a half in Colombia. I have been connected with medicine from the Amazon and primarily the Cofan tribe. I have been in and around different communities doing permaculture, sustainable building, plant medicine, and consciousness raising. I hope to move to Colombia within the next year.

    I am currently writing a book about my life. The focus of the book is Yage (Ayahuasca), why I came to it, how it helped me, and why I am continuing to work with this medicine of the Cofan people from the Putumayo region of the Colombian Amazon. I am also traveling and playing music wherever I can. I have two albums online and am in the process of making a GoFundMe to continue following music, Yage, and writing my book.

    I love cooking, building, gardening, learning, reading, yoga, meditation, and playing music. I also love everything to do with nature. I hike, bike, swim, snorkel, climb (a little), surf (not very good), and will do just about anything outdoors. I love animals and connecting with nature. I recently was about two feet away from a howler monkey in the Sierra Nevada mountains of Colombia.

    I am interested in working outside. My ideal job would be to work in a hostel that also goes on tours in to the mountains or guides people in nature some how. I would also like to be able to play shows for people wherever I end up staying. Music is a passion in the heart and if I can share it with people I will. I have worked in communities over the last few years and helped with eco building, permaculture, gardening, cooking, cleaning, service, and much more. For now, I think my first option to work would be in a hostel where I can play music shows and hopefully take people on hiking tours. I am also working on becoming an instructor in yoga. I would be very pleased to share my knowledge with yoga to travelers.

    One Love

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening, permaculture basics, basics in construction (I can use most tools and help with any project, I just don't lead projects in construction), photography and videography (I don't have a camera right now), video editing, music, customer service, intermediate level of Spanish, writing, cleaning, yoga instruction, guitar teacher, hand drum teacher

  • Languages spoken

    English and learning Spanish (intermidiate level now)

  • Age

    29

  • What else ...

    I am a really open human. I have had the privilege to connect with amazing people and have amazing experiences in Colombia. I now hope to do the same in Mexico. I love chess and catan. I play soccer sometimes. I like talking spiritually and about how to move forward as a world. I believe that if we walk together we can make this world a better place. Someone once said that "traveling is a way to rid the world of bigotry, discrimination, and closed mindedness". I believe this is true because when you travel and connect with people, you realize how amazing people can be. By traveling, I hope to create simple connections wherever I am that can last a lifetime, I hope to help with the projects the people are working on locally, and I hope to explore the culture and the nature of the places I find.

    I am also very excited about the food in Mexico. I have heard many good things and am looking forward to finding amazing food.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback