Pete & Daniella

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/04/2019 - 23/10/2019

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Update 9th August 2019 We are currently in Tavira and are available for our next workaway from 12th August. We have just finished two workaways around Santa Caterina and Moncarapacho
    .
    Hi, We are Pete (51) and Daniella (45)
    Daniella and I met through spare room.co.uk. When Dani came to look at my spare room, we hit it off straight away. Over a glass of wine or two we talked about our hopes and dreams. Dani was formally the UK's youngest ski instructor and took part in the Franz Klammer display team. My Passion is food and while I wouldn't want to be a chef, I love to cook for people. By the end of the evening we had decided that we'd run a ski chalet in The Alps.
    This was 2.5 years ago and now we are preparing to embark on a journey, albeit with a slightly different plan, the principle remains the same. We are both fed up with the whole work, money, unhealthy lifestyle we'd grown accumstomed to. We'd both travelled a lot and knew there was a better way of life out there, but like a lot of people just carried on doing what we always had.
    Sadly, last year Dani's dad Greg passed away suddenly. This proved to be the catalyst we needed to make a life change. So, on 23rd April, we leave England for 6 months. Destination Portugal.
    The flat has been sold, furniture sold and the rest in mums loft. We're off, with the only direct debit being a phone.
    We been twice in last 6 months, a week just outside Porto in Aguda (what a beach!) and four days around Sagres/Aljezur and fell in love with the beauty, the food, people and, of course, the weather.
    We've talked about running a B&B or hostel, or setting up a kayak or mountain bike business. We've talked about loving to have land to grow our own organic fruit and veg, to be self suffient. We going with an open mind, looking for ideas and oppurtunities and experiences with a view to a permanent move.
    Pete is English, a painter decorator for 2 years, previously in finance for 25 years. fit and active. Can paint, cook, do basic DIY/building, happy to do physical work. Interests are cooking, hiking, music, photography,books, nature. I'm a dunce with languages, but hope to change that.
    Daniella is English/Italian and can speak several languages. A logistics manager, former ski instructor, fit and active. Enjoys running, cooking, music.
    We are both easy to get along with, have a good work ethic, reliable and we are keen to learn from anyone. We are both well travelled and dont mind roughing it, but would want our own private room.
    We love the outdoors, being in nature, long walks, beautiful scenery.
    When in Portugal we'll eat Portugeuse food whenever possible.
    We like to work in a B&B or hostel where we could use our cooking and customer service skills.
    We'd also love to work on a farm that is self sufficient/organic and learn about permaculture.
    We'd love to learn new things and want to be taken out of our comfort zone.
    We look forward to meeting you.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Pete: I spent 25 years as a financial adviser dealing direct with customers. So I have great customer service/sales skills. I also spent two years working on construction sites in Australia and the last two years as a painter decorator in UK, so I can paint but also have some general building skills. I've renovated a couple of houses and I can lay a concrete base, do basic carpentry and happy to do hard graft. I wont touch electrics or plumbing but will give anything else a go . Cooking is my passion. I like classic French cooking, Thai, Spanish and am looking forward to learning about Portugues food and I also want to expand my knowledge of Vegan food. Great a dealing with customers, reasonable IT skills. I can build a website and know a bit about social media marketing. I love animals, particularly dogs. Love working outside.
    Dani. Languages, sales, cooking, transport and logistics, working well under pressure and coming up with solutions. Great at customer service. Good with horses. Dani speaks English, fluent Italian, some French, German and Bahasa Malay. Loves the outdoors. Not scared of hard work.

  • Languages spoken

    Dani can speak English, Italian, basic German French and Spanish

  • Age

    52 & 46

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback