Michelle

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Puerto Rico, United States, Virgin Islands (U.S.)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/08/2017 - 01/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I have lived mostly travelling and working seasonally, and as of the last few years have found myself seeking more purpose in my travels. I am especially drawn to community living, although I very much appreciate my own time for reflection and creativity, and my own space. I am interested in situations where there are interesting projects to do, and things to learn. I enjoy building, and working in the dirt. I love animals, and getting to know others on deeper levels. I find myself in Europe for the first time, and I'm drawn to staying put for week or more at a time, digging in a little more than rambling around so much, as I feel I'm outgrowing that style of travel. I am a hard worker, and keep a positive attitude, as that is the most important.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have some moderate building and basic carpentry skills, moderate surfing, proficient Spanish, proficient typing, math, gardening, farming, kayaking, sailing, massage therapy/beginner CranioSacral therapy, writing, guitar, yoga instructor, basic engine maintenance (mechanic helper more so), basic first aid, moderate bicycle maintenance/repair.
    I have learned various forms of natural building, and have worked on a farm. I also worked with troubled youth for a year, so have some de-escalation skills, and learned a great deal about communication

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I am interested in learning a new language, probably French, and as of now I have no end date to my travels here. I am trying to improve my writing skills, and have started a blog, knowinghome.blog, for any interested in knowing more.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      There are some foods I choose not to eat, but I don't require special accommodations.

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more