Mira

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, Bulgaria, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/02/2019 - 30/06/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    752

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello all

    I am a curious youngster who has recently caught a severe case of the travel bug. In the summer of 2016 i travelled alone around the UK , France, and Spain before studying for a year in England. A year in England was more than enough to turn me into a proper Anglophile...

    Now I am freshly graduated from college and looking forward to learning from experience rather than from Hegel or Nietzsche or other serious dead men (i studied philosophy).
    During college I worked as a groundskeeper on my college campus so i can help with green thumb activities. Other than that, my favorite work has been being a phone worker at a teen crisis hotline; there I answered anonymous teenaged callers who would call with all sorts of issues, from parents' divorce to suicide. Maybe it was this job that made me realize just how curious I find people's individual takes on life-- the way they make decisions, what they've done, etc-- no matter how far it is from anything i've experienced.

    i don't love traveling for the tourist attractions as much as i love it for the opportunity it gives me to meet all sorts of people and experience culture at its best (or worst! Worst is as enlightening). I am naturally drawn to the absurd and weird and funny, all of which I try to document in some form (usually through my B-grade camcorder).

    I'm always willing to have a good chat, either in English or any other language you speak. but let it be known that if it is the latter, then there is a fair chance that, despite all my convincing nods and smiles, I won't understand a lick of what you are saying. I'm very interested in languages, however, so would love to learn. If you want a bit of comic relief we can have me speak in French-- je parle un peu mais j'ai besoin de pratiquer beau beau coup...

    I can also be a bit of a hermit . When I am not among people i'm peachy keen just reading or writing or playing piano whenever there is one available. I also enjoy poking around unfamiliar places, like churches, trinket stores and abandoned buildings. Never bored!

    i'd be grateful to lend a hand in your personal life-improvement projects, whatever they may be.

    To future friendships!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Writing, editing, filming, gardening, biking, hiking, minor construction, amateur piano

  • Languages spoken

    English, little French

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I suppose you can glean more from me by my Couchsurfing profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/2003394034

    and maybe also my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6_XESI31WcNczXTkG4SJIw

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Broccoli, oddly!

    • Special dietary requirements
      Regularly i am a veggie but also very flexible and will try whatever you say I must try, regardless

Photos

much of my time in college was spent laughing at the absurdity of Hegel
my hometown Seattle, Washington
at a very very phony german restaurant in Colorado. barrel of laughs
aspen colorado
Balancing bales of mulch on my head was my main duty as a groundskeeper
DDR- the world's finest game
Feb 2019 Update: i was in India!

Feedback