Minttu

  • Finland
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling


    I'm currently volunteering at a horse farm in Alentejo.

  • Description

    Hello! I'm Minttu, 38 years old and originally from Finland but I have lived abroad since I was 18, most recently residing in Amsterdam after some time living in the US, and Ireland and UK before that.

    In 2017 I took just over a year off work to travel and volunteer in animal shelters and farms and even a cooking school in Malaysia, I learned a lot and met some amazing people and ever since then my dream has been to go explore again. For the past few years I was back working full time while studying for a master's degree, and since I graduated this fall I have been in Portugal traveling and volunteering at a horse farm in Alentejo.

    Animal welfare is close to my heart, I especially love dogs, cats and horses. I am a good horse rider and I have previous experience of looking after farm animals. Currently I'm learning freedom based horse training.

    I am also interested in permaculture and organic farming, I used to work for an organic farmer in Wicklow Ireland so I'm used to hard work! I have a keen interest in sustainability and land preservation.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I grew up riding horses and I'm very used to handling animals of all sizes, including farm animals. I have plenty of experience with dogs from having my own as well as volunteering in dog shelters and house sitting for people with rescue animals.

    I have a keen interest in organic farming and permaculture. I used to work for Denis Healy's organic delights in Ireland. I would like to live off the grid in the future so I want to learn as much as possible about being self-sufficient. Independent work suits me well but being a part of a community (however small) with similar goals in life is my ideal set up.

    I am a merchandiser/ product planner by profession so I have strong analytical and computer skills, I have 10 years of experience working for retail and wholesale organisations and I also have knowledge of e-commerce and digital marketing. I have a BA in Economics and an MBA with a focus on sustainability and responsible leadership.
    I have worked in hospitality in the past, in hotels, restaurants and bars.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    38

  • What else ...

    Ideally looking for 1-3 months opportunity from January possibly longer if the place is right.
    I have a US driver license but I have not been behind a wheel for over two years so I'm rusty! I prefer a location where I do not need to have a car but could get around by bike, foot, public transport.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I mainly eat a plant based diet although I occasionally eat fish and a bit of chicken.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback