Camilla & Francesco

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2019 - 31/08/2019


  • Description

    Hi! We are Camilla and Francesco, a couple of friends and university students from Milan with a passion for languages.
    We both study English and Mandarin Chinese. As of last year, Camilla has also started learning Japanese out of personal interest. Camilla's enthusiasm has rubbed off on Francesco, who has recently started to study it by himself. When we're not busy keeping up with our university deadlines, we love to travel together. So far, we haven't travelled very far but we're planning on changing that. Our aim is to meet new people from all kinds of backgrounds, improve our language skills and experience daily life in other countries.

    Camilla: I like to think of myself as a creative person: I enjoy doodling on every kind of surface available, and I’m always on the lookout for new ways to express myself, ranging from stage makeup to polymer clay. I’ve visited quite a few countries, including Spain, France and the Czech Republic. As much as I like being a tourist, I strive to discover the local way of life. I've had the opportunity to live and study in Tianjin for three weeks, and I’ve had my first workaway experience in the U.K. two years ago: I adored my host family - we still keep in touch!

    Francesco: Although I'm hopeless at drawing, I have a strong interest in visual arts. I also love reading books and comics alike, in fact, my home is full of books. I took piano lessons for 10 years and I can play some guitar. I enjoy hiking in the Alps as much as visiting cultural cities. In my opinion, strolling around and talking with locals is the best way to understand the spirit of a city. My previous experiences include traveling through Northeast Italy in a van and living in a dormitory at Beijing Language and Culture University for 5 weeks.


    We'd like to visit Japan for a month in July/August 2019, as we will have fulfilled our university duties by then.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Since we regularly help out at home and have lived on our own occasionally, we are both good at cleaning and we're able to fix common househould items. As we've been helping our parents take care of our garden at home since we were little, we developed basic gardening skills. We both can cook basic dishes and look forward to trading recipes.
    Camilla has worked in an elementary school as a Chinese interpreter, regularly tutors middle school children and has attended an Italian teaching course. She also helped organize historical re-enactments.

  • Languages spoken

    Italian, English, Chinese ( conversational ) and Japanese ( basic )

  • Age

    22 & 22

  • Nationality

    Italian

  • What else ...

    When it comes to work, we are perfectionists: doing things haphazardly is not in our nature. We've learnt to work together during these last few years, and frankly speaking we make a very good team :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback