Mikkel

From: Denmark

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/02/2019 - 24/06/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Mikkel.

    I am a young guy from Denmark, currently 23 years.

    I'm currently situated at a fantastic, back to basics, primitive workaway in Värmland, Sweden, spending time on what I consider the true joys of life.
    Im currently travelling everywhere by foot or hitch hike (I take my Covid precautions as good as I can, making what I consider prudent decisions) and will hopefully, in time, go to some far out spots.
    Along this journey I wish to learn a as much ss possible, sucking up like a sponge all the knowledge I can about really anything - the universe is such a beautiful thing that nothing in it can ever be boring; with that said, certain things fill my mind currently and a big one is farming and natural construction.

    Farming! I am so deeply fascinated by everything that grows, everything life - animals, plants, yeast, fungi, you name it! -, and travelling around in this manner connects me to it on a higher level.
    I love using my hands and getting down 'n' dirty! There's nothing better. Being in direct contact with the natural world is more fulfilling than anything else I can imagine.

    I dream of learning skills that I can teach other people and in this way get more and more people to actively think about their relationship to the planet.
    I believe there are good and bad things to everything, including our current society, however, I see more negative aspects of this than positive ones. Therefore, I participate as little as possible in consumer behavior

    I like dumpster diving and I'm quite ascetic in my eating habits - I believe I can thrive in almost all circumstances, believing that happiness can be achieved with not much more than your own vital heat.

    As I'm wandering around our pretty little planet, I'm contemplating a lot of things about how I want to live my life.
    There are many factors at play but overall I value community, a healthy relationship to the planet and all that lives. I believe everything that exists is of good nature, even things that appear bad.
    I wish to visit a lot of different places that live communally and talk, discuss and learn with and from people about different structures.

    Music is very important to me. I have played the guitar for the past many years and recently I've been learning piano and singing as well.
    I'm really into the tradition of folk, roots and blues music, especially since it's the perfect style to play while travelling around!
    Music is for the people!

    Also, I'm really into hiking, litterature, The Beatles and Grateful Dead.

    I've used Workaway a few times before, the first time being in the Bolivian jungle doing permaculture and construction. I wasn't there that long, but I learned that I want to do something similar again and now I'm ready to stay longer.
    I've also done general maintenance and a bit of carpentry in Alaska and Lebanon through Workaway.


    "Old longings nomadic leap,
    Chafing at custom's chain;
    Again from its brumal sleep
    wakens the ferine strain."

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am trained in kitchen hygiene and food quality as I have been working in a restaurant for several years now. I am a musican for quite some years now, primarily guitar, but I sing and play piano, too.
    I consider myself quite handy. I'm not a trained contractor or anything, but I know my way around the tools and I'd like to learn more.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback