Mike & Kara

  • New Zealand & Australia
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (5)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently


    Activities we are interested in:

    We are specifically interested in being involved with and expanding our knowledge on Community living, Organic gardening and Agro-forestry, as well as Eco-building projects and off-grid living.

  • Description

    Hello beautiful people :) We are a friendly, mature and respectful, outgoing couple, originally from New Zealand but have been living in Australia for the past 15 years or more. Having done the working life, it's now time for us to realise our dreams and create our own adventures. We are currently 20 months in to our travels and have so far, visited 8 countries, and intend to continue to travel slowly. To assist with this, we have recently built a campervan and are now much more mobile. We are hardworking and well-skilled all-rounders, that are keen to see new places and make new friends around the world and experience various cultures.
    Ultimately, our travels will see us helping out in a Farming or Eco environment, Construction of new buildings and structures, Landscaping and outdoors and many other opportunities that will present themselves and allow us to interact with others. It is worth noting that we are not city people, so our best suited environments will find us in nature, near the bush or beach.
    We are keen to learn more about Permacultutre and Organic gardening, Agro-forestry, Community Living and living off grid, as well as improving our French and Spanish.
    Ideally, we enjoy doing workaways of around 2 - 4 weeks in duration so we are not "confined" to one specific area.
    See our travels and Workaways so far on Instagram @the_in_between_travellers or check out our "Workawayers of the Month" write up to learn a little more about us https://www.workaway.info/en/stories/meet-couple-mid-life-grown-up-gap-year-adventures

  • Interests

    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Van life
    Charity work
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Self development

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Keen to improve our Portuguese and Spanish

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Life at a Farmstay
  • More details about your skills

    Hardworking and outgoing, we both enjoy getting in and getting the job done. We are both confident and capable to tackle most challenges and duties.
    Coming from a DIY and construction background together we share the following:
    * Building and Construction
    * DIY
    * Fencing and Decks
    * Gardening and Landscaping
    * Cooking

  • Age

    46 & 38

  • What else ...

    We're happy to share what knowledge we have, but ultimately, we are travelling to learn and increase our own knowledge and skills in the mentioned areas in order to one day, implement them onto our own land.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Kara is Vegan but not needy