Mikael

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2019 - 31/10/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello there!
    I´ve been travelling since end of 2018, after I wanted to fullfill my dream that I´ve had in mind since a long time. The timing seemed just shouting for this experience and I quit my job in Hamburg/Germany (as an product designer) and wanted to seek for inspiration in other edges of the world, where I haven´t had the chance to travel before. Ever since the first day I´ve been enjoying this trip as the fullest, what ever has come in my way - no matter which experience - even the less nicest - you just learn a lot and appreciate them. I say to myself, do not regret anything - what you haven’t experienced you can not judge.
    I would describe myself as an friendly, curious, open-minded person, seeking for challenges, willing to take part and be part of - what ever it may be. My finnish roots, the country where I grow up, gave me the connection to the nature, our summers spent in the forests at the lake, building, carving, enjoying what the nature has to offer, drives me to seek for these things in the other places of the planet.
    The best experiences I have had so far and the ones I enjoy the most, is the contact to the locals, where I think you experience the most of the country, not just as a tourist running from one sight to another, but really seeing the culture through the perspectives of the people living there, not forgetting the recommendations you get, to discover places, where a travelguide won´t take you;)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    My latest job was in Hamburg as a designer/interior architect in a company, that offers both private object based design services and consultations. Having done an apprenticeship as a modeler I have worked in handcrafted jobs as well, such as an moulder in a furnituredesign workshop.

    During my studies as a designer I worked for 2,5 years in a Café, mainly as a waiter but in the kitchen too, preparing breakfast, lunch, cleaning - everything what a private own cafe has to offer. I really enjoy working in service, being around with people.
    I speak finnish, german and english fluently and if theres a chance - would like to make my experience in teaching too! In spanish I have basic skills, but I am eager to learn, with he the goal to get better and speak it after my travels in South-America.

  • Languages spoken

    finnish, german, english - fluently __ spanish - basics

  • Age

    35

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback