Micheál

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/08/2019 - 18/07/2023

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello!

    I am Micheál (said like ¨me-hawl¨) from Ireland. A travelling crazy happy soul whose home is the road. My dream is to slow-travel around the world without flying :) So far I have travelled in 12 countries in Western Europe.

    I am a characteristically kind, sensitive person - attentive when listening and caring towards the people in my life. I like direct, open, straight-talking people. I love all things creative, especially music. I can play a bit of guitar and a bit more bass.

    in my time travelling in Europe I have had many good experiences volunteering through both WWOOF and workaway. I worked on a building project in Belgium where I learned some basic carpentry skills, in Italy I helped to restore the original fencing in a remote village and worked on three different organic farms across the Alps. I spent five months on am Animal Rescue Centre in Tenerife mostly building with dry stone and wood, I learned a lot there. I've also couchsurfed and hitchiked in many countries, slept on benches, in my tent, in mountain huts, in big hostel dorms, couches, a tree house, boats, and occassionally in beds.

    Through all this I have been collecting random skills and good vibes which I would love to bring and share with you. I'll get stuck to whatever work needs doing and hopefully contribute a unique memory to your experience :)

    I have a bachelor degree in Psychology from the University of Liverpool. My grandmother was my biggest inspiration to study at University, she lived to see me graduate last year and she told me ¨you can travel the world now with that in your back pocket, it doesn't weigh anything¨. I really took that to heart.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I love dry stone walling and working with wood, while I am no professional I can bring my basic skills and enthusiasm in these areas. All things working with my hands.

    I can help you learn/improve both verbal and written language

    I have been making posters for years on photoshop and have good knowledge of the software as well as other computing skills

    I play the guitar (just for fun) and can teach chords and a few songs :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    27

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nothing

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback