Michael

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Kenya, Uganda

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/02/2020 - 09/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi, I'm Michael, 31 years old, from Switzerland. I am a chilled, fun and an easy-to-get-along guy who is at a new crossing at his life. Luckily I was allowed to take a big break from working to discover what else life has to offer and to think about who I want to become. I recently enjoy solo travelling while meeting interesting people. I like to read, am interested in self-growth and have recently begun going on a spiritual journey as well.
    I studied and lived in Lucerne, Switzerland, which is one of the most beautiful cities there. I was seeing the same university-people all day in a city, where life is very easy. I started to open up and started traveling. I'm grateful I was brave enough back then and now to start this volonteer. I have never been to Africa but I have always wanted. My mother has been to Kenya a long time ago in the 70ies, about Uganda I did a lot of research. I could start right away, the sooner the better!

    All my life I was so focused on "what do I want to do with my life" that I realized I had never really done something really meaningful for somebody else without expecting anything in return. I love to go on that journey now! To be honest, I am also very curious what this experience will do to me too.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I was fortunate enough to make a living out of my big passion: Music. I studied classical piano and church organ, used to sing in musicals in highschool and enjoy learning guitar and other instruments by myself.

    I have learned pedagogy skills during my masters and worked as a piano teacher after. I am experienced in teaching children as well as adults and seniors.

    Since almost 10 years I frequently serve in the civil-service in Switzerland each year for a frew days. We interact with elderlies and disabeld people and simulate an emergency sometimes where we evacuate them, organize their lives by providing shelter and food etc.

    Besides,I am very travel-experienced, like speaking different languages, have great stories to share and am a patient listener. I enjoy sports a lot (rackets sports, running, gym), like to keep myself healthy with self-cooked healthy meals.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Age

    32

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback