Mercia Catherine & Matthew

From: South Africa & Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/05/2020 - 30/11/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there! Matthew and I are currently travelling Japan in our kei van. We started our journey in Nozawa onsen, Nagano where we worked the ski season. We have made our way south to the beaches now and are looking forward to learning more of the Japanese language and culture.
    We both love to surf, ski/snowboard and get outdoors and are currently getting into photography.
    Matt is a musician, he plays the guitar, drums and keyboard.
    I am passionate about health and nutrition; I love to cook and do yoga.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Mercia:
    I have a Bachelor of Science in Zoology and a certificate in Nutrition.
    I have worked in cafe's and restaurants for the last 5 years as a barista and manager. I have also worked in a kitchen; baking and cooking. I have experience working receptionist roles, and as a cleaner in a backpackers.
    I have recently completed an online English teaching course too (TEFL).

    Matthew:
    I have a Bachelor of Business, majoring in Accounting. I have worked for years as a Financial Planner, but also have experience working in a bar and printing factory. I have experience working in a Lodge; on reception, cooking breakfast for guests and cleaning.
    I have recently completed my TEFL qualification (English Teaching).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Beginner

  • Age

    27 & 29

  • What else ...

    We are passionate about the environment and minimising our footprint. We are interested in learning more about farming in different countries as Mercia has experience working on Sheep and Beef farms in New Zealand and Matt's family run a Beef farm in Australia.
    We are keen to help with projects that focus on sustainability, community and cultural exchange. We are open-minded and interested in learning about other people's lifestyles, we love to have a chat but also want a chance to help out and work hard.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mercia: Vegan, Matthew: Pescetarian

Feedback